President announces re-introduction of a National Cadet Corps

krishna · 05-30-2015, 08:46 AM

https://guyaneseonline.wordpress.com/201...-potatoes/

[Image: potatoes.jpg?w=300&h=168]

“This is a good day for us in Agriculture. Gone are the days when we import such produce when infact we have enough land space,

experienced and qualified persons and the will-power to ensure that such things become a reality”

said Agriculture Minister, Dr. Leslie Ramsammy.

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=97811.msg639148#msg639148 date=1433031441]
how to grow split peas in BG ::confused::  Captain tell we nuh!

Among the non-traditional crops currently grown are garlic, carrot, turmeric, ginger, chic peas and English potatoes.

Yellow peas should be easy , peasy  (pun intended)  ::LOL::

Get the Cadets to Plant  and the Soldiers to clear the fields for Farming !

I planted pineapples  during my Cadet Corps days at  Tumatumari  8)

so how has Guyanan potato production gone since then...deh growing aloo for the whole west indies yet?

wat about split peas ::confused::

and you know wat is crucial fuh the west indies to do in food.........

DEVELOP A WHEAT HYBRID FUH THE WEST INDIES AND GET AWAY FROM POISON AMRICAN DWARF WHEAT HYBRID THAT IS KILLING PEOPLE EVERYWHERE

Can cadetry accomplish dat ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

Not Cadetry : the famous Mon Repos Agriculture NURSERY !

the soldiers and cadets are work horses to till the soil : there are no wars to fight  Wink

https://demerarawaves.wordpress.com/2014...-potatoes/

Chief Executive Officer of NAREI, Dr. Oudho Homenauth reiterated his agencies commitment to ensuring that non-traditional varieties

of crops which are adaptable to soil type and climatic conditions on the coast are introduced.

While this has been a success for NAREI, such a venture didn’t come easily. According to Dr. Homenauth researchers encountered a

number of difficulties in the initial phase such as soil type, and pest attack before reaching this stage

“During extensive research we found that growing the potatoes under shaded cultivation instead of in the open :

has also helped in this regard….to date, we have mastered our soil type and managed pest attack to a significant level”

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=97811.msg639349#msg639349 date=1433168639]
Not Cadetry : the famous Mon Repos Agriculture NURSERY !

the soldiers and cadets are work horses to till the soil : there are no wars to fight  Wink

https://demerarawaves.wordpress.com/2014...-potatoes/

Chief Executive Officer of NAREI, Dr. Oudho Homenauth reiterated his agencies commitment to ensuring that non-traditional varieties

of crops which are adaptable to soil type and climatic conditions on the coast are introduced.

While this has been a success for NAREI, such a venture didn’t come easily. According to Dr. Homenauth researchers encountered a

number of difficulties in the initial phase such as soil type, and pest attack before reaching this stage

yes! well dat is wat I meant.  where have the potatos gone...production high in the rergion from dat start ::confused::

and wat about wheat ::confused::

I want to dat but I doh have the money.  I ent win the lottery yet....50 million on friday. 

but why wait when the government cyan do it... develop a proper hybrid fuh flour that can grow in the tropics..clean flour...roti like peas, fresh bread, bake and sal'fish, float an' an  akkra..but no obesity and hernias bussin' people belly :Sick:

A lot of talk about unity is being thrown around, although there is little evidence of that on the ground.

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=97811.msg639353#msg639353 date=1433169212]
yes! well dat is wat I meant.  where have the potatos gone...production high in the rergion from dat start ::confused::

and wat about wheat ::confused:: I want to dat but I doh have the money.  I ent win the lottery yet....50 million on friday. 

but why wait when the government cyan do it... develop a proper hybrid fuh flour that can grow in the tropics..clean flour..

That article was a Year ago : NURSERY stage :

Agri products are very sensitive to Soil and Weather .

This potato experiment was attempted and failed back in the 1960s in the lush savannah region...