The Complicated Marlon Samuels

zacaroni · 04-28-2015, 10:28 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

Quote:Samuels has never been one to recoil from any on-field skirmish. Pushed into the lion's den aged 19 when he joined the 2000-01 tour of Australia, he had to fight on cricket's toughest battlefield. Led by the snarling Glenn McGrath, Australia's bowling attack regularly ran roughshod over almost every batting unit that engaged them on the Australian front. And with West Indies' glory days gone by then, the Caribbean challengers, despite the presence of the mercurial Brian Lara, were not expected to fare all that well.

Samuels would have had some inkling of the peril that laid in wait. About four years earlier, his elder brother Robert was himself forced to negotiate the hostile environment maintained by Mark Taylor' men when he opened the innings in four tests of the West Indies' 1996-97 five-Test tour. His 76 in Perth, batting for 332 minutes and facing 228 deliveries, was a significant triumph under the circumstances, but the left-hander reported that so crude was the babble in the middle that he sometimes wondered if the Australians were lecturing him on some topic having to do with sex.

But, if Robert was calm and diffident in the face of provocation, the younger Samuels was composed, confident, combative. He courteously replied to whatever chatter the Australians hurled in his direction and played his strokes with the fluency and poise that suggested a player more experienced, more accomplished than a teenager on his first tour with only a handful of first-class games to his name.
The Complicated Marlon Samuels

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=97381.msg634551#msg634551 date=1430170245]
Ambrose dispel the urban legend that alleged [size=12pt]"Curtly talks to no man"[/size]

Samuels have the same "made in Jamaica" line  .. Wink

[Image: 211363.2.jpg]

[quote author=Mail? link=topic=97370.msg634627#msg634627 date=1430230114]
Ha ha ha...It is a discussion....
[size=10pt]The team bar Samuels[/size] agreed to walk out is that incorrect?

TanteMail posted this on Shiv's 112 runs thread , zacaroni !

I am correcting it .... Smile .......

Hey , you de one who is obsessed talking Player personalities ;

perfect thread for YOU : Samuels complicated " personality" !

Dont bother with the Koookaburra vs. Dukes ball thread  :-*

[quote author=Mail? link=topic=97399.msg634648#msg634648 date=1430231941]
where is that thread I must comment in it?

never mind Mail ,

your role on this Forum is to berate Players and engage in Trini Comess and Bacchanal !

then have a meltdown when you are caned and spanked ~

Carry On, smartly !

Thanks Mail , your finest and most unbiased post ever !

dont radar focus on threads called "Chanderpaul" and/or "Shiv"

there are many odda of my high intelligentsia Topic threads for you to learn !

YOU will find it  : Good Luck !

hint : it has 208 views and 11 replies.

in·tel·li·gent·si·a  noun

intellectuals or highly educated people as a group, especially when regarded as possessing culture and political influence.

Mail and ramesh : some free advice !  Smile

[Image: soar-with-the-eagles.jpg]