South Africa messed with the team-shape mojo

boquiesse · 03-25-2015, 02:48 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

Quote:[size=12pt]Cape Town – It would be grossly unfair and unreasonable to single out his direct replacement on the day, Vernon Philander, as the central cause of the Proteas’ seventh successive failure to sample a World Cup final.

In fact, put such ignoramuses canvassing the idea back in the hole where they belong.

South Africa didn’t lose an epic, great-advertisement limited-overs contest to New Zealand because of one man: watch the semi-final thriller from scratch and you will be reminded of a vast variety of flashpoints during its see-sawing course that affected the way it finally went with just a ball to spare[/size]

Read more here: SA did cry out for Abbott

devielers boasted too much

I don't know the reasoning behind the selectors' decision to call up Philander, but it did seem very odd that they dropped an in-form player for an injured one.

I am inclined to believe the story.

It just seemed very very strange that SA would opt for Philander instead of Abbott.

It was a quota pick.  Come on folks, no need to beat around the bush.  Call it for what it was.

A selector said the panel  “had to okay four players of colour”  for last Tuesday‘s semifinal,

in which Philander was thrust in from the cold after an injury lay-off

to play alongside Hashim Amla, Imran Tahir and JP Duminy.

[quote author=Snoopster link=topic=96708.msg629147#msg629147 date=1427745719]
It was a quota pick.  Come on folks, no need to beat around the bush.  Call it for what it was.

The 'pebble' was probably when AB said he couldn't win the WC by himself ... trouble was obviously brewing ... and hey you're right Snoops.

I do believe now it was a quota pick and that was the 'rock' .... as it didn't make sense selecting an injured player over an in-form one ... Cost them the WC most probably !!!

Pay attention to the pebble before the rock hits yuh !!!

[quote author=Calypso link=topic=96708.msg629168#msg629168 date=1427806799]
The 'pebble' was probably when AB said he couldn't win the WC by himself ... trouble was obviously brewing ... and hey you're right Snoops.

I do believe now it was a quota pick and that was the 'rock' .... as it didn't make sense selecting an injured player over an in-form one ... Cost them the WC most probably !!!

Pay attention to the pebble before the rock hits yuh !!!

That's right Cal.

I think the quota selections need to be abolished from SA cricket.  A lot of the coloured SA players can earn their selection on merit.  There will therefore always be coloured players on the team.  As long as that system is in place SA will always be a bridesmaid at the WC.

I hadn't seen that story until now, but I had been wondering whether that was the reason for Kyle Abbott's exclusion. It the story is true, I doubt anyone will ever admit it.

It's strange how things worked out, because a few weeks ago I questioned Abbott's place in the world cup squad, yet he certainly proved he deserved to be there.