How Much Longer For Chris Gayle?

zacaroni · 03-13-2015, 03:27 AM · 2 people reading this discussion

How much longer can he play given bad back and probably bad form?

Quote:Chris Gayle's 215 against Zimbabwe was a mighty innings. Made off 147 balls with a record-equaling 16 sixes and abetted by 10 fours, it bespeaks a festival of power-hitting that is stunning even by today's standards. As he sometimes does, he began tentatively, and was, in fact, fortunate to survive a huge LBW shout that could have gone either way.

He had gone 19 ODI innings and 19 months without a hundred and there was a lot of talking, tweeting, and retweeting one by none other than West Indies Board President (WICB) Dave Cameron, who unwisely propagated a message from a fan stating that Gayle, in light of his most recent failure against Pakistan, should be offered a retirement package.

After his mammoth innings, Gayle seemed to suggest he used the incident, as well as unprecedented good wishes from fans, as motivation. "This is the first time since I've been playing international cricket that I have received so many messages," he said. "It felt like even my enemy wanted me to do well." And so there was rejoicing in the Caribbean and from Chris Gayle fans everywhere; the game's mightiest blade was back.

But was it really? Did his record-breaking innings mark a return to form or was it the last big snowstorm of a dying winter?
How Much Longer For Gayle-Force Winds?

the end of this wurl skup....
he wont play tests against england for sure.  I dont see how he would do that so this is it.

as an aside how long will test cricket go on anyway ::confused::

seems like the sands of time running out ever more rapidly on dat Sad

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=96421.msg624981#msg624981 date=1426255105]
as an aside how long will test cricket go on anyway ::confused::

seems like the sands of time running out ever more rapidly on dat Sad

Aside from Ashes series crowds do not seem to be flocking to watch test cricket.

In the upcoming series against England the barmy army might well outnumber the west indian spectators.

Test cricket is here to stay !

Unless he strikes a purple patch again,i reckon he won't stand a chance to be even selected.He hasn't had enough to prove in the last couple of years and his power seems to be waning.His hand eye co ordination is pathetic nowadays.

He needs Back surgery ....

those bulging disks are real painful

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=96421.msg625005#msg625005 date=1426260000]
He needs Back surgery ....

those bulging disks are real painful

sure deh are..yet still he is 35.  he aint no shive.  he is 6 feet an' some.  dat is a lot to kerry for so long.  by 35 he play much more cricket than Lloyd at 40..Lloyd, a big man too Sad

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=96421.msg624992#msg624992 date=1426258488]
Test cricket is here to stay !

I hope so. One often hears players say that's the format that's most important, but at the end of the day money talks. If the fans lose interest, who knows?

[quote author=Gina145 link=topic=96421.msg625066#msg625066 date=1426285713]
I hope so. One often hears players say that's the format that's most important, but at the end of the day money talks. If the fans lose interest, who knows?

West Indian fans have largely lost interest.

We will see the if the crowds are larger for the tests or the ODIs vs England.

[quote author=boquiesse link=topic=96421.msg625068#msg625068 date=1426286847]
West Indian fans have largely lost interest.

We will see the if the crowds are larger for the tests or the ODIs vs England.

That's pretty sad.

I imagine the crowds are bigger for ODIs in most places because it's not easy for most people to find five days to watch a cricket match, but that doesn't necessarily mean they're not interested. If I were planning to attend a match I'd rather go to a test match because I hate big crowds.