What is a good way to invest $40,000 on the stock market for a beginner

Radhica · 09-21-2014, 06:53 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

[quote author=Chin link=topic=92846.msg589766#msg589766 date=1411413047]
I just called TD bank  and was told I need a SIN number to purchase any precious metals...

didn't you tell them that you are a SIN(ner)?!!  ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

well don't buy from or through the banks. there are tons of small dealers about who sell up to a grand with just a receipt.

if you are going to do that why deal with the banks at all.  ::confused::

keep your cash somewhere safe..reduce your accounts to what you need for bills and to keep them going. take you cash in hand and buy silver.  don't go to the bank, take out a grand then go directly and buy silver.... :Smile :Smile :Smile :Smile

[quote author=Chin link=topic=92846.msg589771#msg589771 date=1411413332]

Poog's ..let me larn ya sumting here ok...

SIN ...means Social Insurance number in Canada ....in the USA its fer sinners .... ;D ;D ;D

so you are a SIN(ner)!  was i wrong?

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=92846.msg589770#msg589770 date=1411413320]

there are tons of small dealers about who sell up to a grand with just a receipt.

sshhhh : Chin gonna claim it as her idea !

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=92846.msg589774#msg589774 date=1411413919]
Mapoui , dont teach Chin too much : she gonna turn arung and claim any tip !  Sad

true! 

and I did not know that the banks would give you physical metals anyway.  have no experience with the banks that way.  I figue if you buy through them you have to hold paper...not to mention the personal record you establish

that's no good these days Smile

look how investors lost on blackberry. its barely $10 now

Dem old people in Guyana seh this is the best place to put yuh money. 8)

[Image: Money-under-mattress.jpg]

[size=18pt]Take snoopy's advice. Stay away from the stock market. You are better off putting your 40K under the mattress.[/size]

* Right now Wall street is a momentum driven casino that is overvaluing everything that moves and all that stand still.

* The stock market is for the big boys not beginners and neophytes.

so Rev, what are your favorite stocks?

Chin ,  IF Radhica wanted a cut and paste : she would have googled  Tongue