Quote:[size=14pt]enuff warning. it is a popular, well known issue in cricket and by now all man aware. back up now at yuh own risk. no warning necessary![/size]
Not for me. When I was able to bowl, I did so reluctantly, but always took wickets and trying to Mankad a guy was the furthest thing from my thoughts, as I feel you have a chance to run one of them out anyway.
However it did not happen excessively when I bowled as non strikers waited until the delivery stride before advancing and when they did it before said stride I just gave a look and that was that.
There is nothing illegal with this act. The batsman is seeking to gain an unfair advatage, therefore, if he is caught down the pitch whilst the bowler is about to deliver, then it's fair for him to be penalised. In the past umpires have intervened; instructing the fielding captain to withdraw his teams appeal in some of these instances.
However if I was the captain instructed to withdraw I would not have complied, as I would deem the umpire's action to be unwarranted intervention.
The ICC playing condition rule 42.11 states that mankading is acceptable.