"Sometimes"? He's always been very defensive when it comes to captaincy. His tactics work in India alright, since batsmen plunder on runs and put pressure on the batsmen - or the players are just not good enough to play in the slow subcontinent conditions with turn.
But I digress. Well played Poms, I certainly thought they were up shit creek when they were 7 down or something for 200 odd. Jimmeh totally deserves the MOTM, even though Root was great.
That said again, Dhonis captaincy has been seriously meh.
A stalemate draw, had jimmy not put up a show like that and had England crumbled from 202,the case would have been different. India could have won this had they got them on the mat.Anyways I feel Dhoni did the right thing by not declaring, they got some much needed practice before the second test.
[quote author=rashidckk link=topic=91081.msg575042#msg575042 date=1405329766]
Even though India clinched the draw I'm not convinced. India had a favourable pitch this time and I don't expect that in the next match.
Exactly,it was like a chepauk pitch with not even a hint of grass.The green tinge had been removed and relaid with a newer one.I highly doubted the pitch's nature when a guy liek Murali Vijay scored a 146 against a top notch opposition.