Narine to replace Benn?

Kyle · 06-21-2014, 12:18 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

burp!

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570768#msg570768 date=1403366346]
Benn cannot be dropped in my estimation.  if anyone is to go it would be gabriel and play both spinners

Both spinners would not be overkill in any way I can see.  you playing to win.  whatever achieves that is what I would do.

Gabriel has been a significant improvement over Sammy.  and Narine would likely double Gabriels worth.

so it is gabriel/Narine. 

Benn is secure.  Benn would have had a match haul of upwards of 8 wickets had his catches been take.  in the end he had to take his catches himself to get a wicket ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Mappy:

* Do you recall part-time spinner, Narsingh Deonarine, nearly bowling the West Indies to victory at Kensignton Oval against Australia in 2012 ?

* Click on the link:

http://howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Ma...hCode=2058

* Had the #1 WI spinner in that test(Bishoo) taken a wicket or two-----the WI could have won that test.

Quote:Had the #1 WI spinner in that test(Bishoo) taken a wicket or two-----the WI could have won that test.

well Bishoo is not Benn.

and for some reason off-spin always does well at Kensington.  I remember Gibbs bowling India out at Kensington.

tenks fuh reminding me.  I now recommend that Narine replace Gabriel at Kensington

was it India or Australia who Gibbs bowled out at Kensington.  what did I actually remember then ::confused::

anyhow off spin will work at Kensington.  Narine mus' play!

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570810#msg570810 date=1403380631]
well Bishoo is not Benn.

and for some reason off-spin always does well at Kensington.  I remember Gibbs bowling India out at Kensington.

tenks fuh reminding me.  I now recommend that Narine replace Gabriel at Kensington

* You mentioned off spinners doing well at Kensington----but actually spinners on the whole have done well.

* Gibbs took 22 wickets in 5 tests

*  Ramadhin took 17 wickets in 4 tests

* Laker took 13 wickets in 2 tests

* Benn has taken 12 wickets in 3 tests

* McGill took 10 wickets in 2 tests

* Shillingford has taken 9 wickets in 2 tests.

Click on link:

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/...pe=bowling

CONCLUSION:

* It might not be a bad idea for the WI to play 2 spinners at Kensington----on day 4 and 5 spinners will take wickets.

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570813#msg570813 date=1403381100]
was it India or Australia who Gibbs bowled out at Kensington.  what did I actually remember then ::confused::

anyhow off spin will work at Kensington.  Narine mus' play!

* Gibbs took 8/38 against India in 1962.

* Mappy you is a old dude. ;D hahaha

http://howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Pl...entCode=00

excellent posting rev.  you know yuh stuff>

I am sure they will play the 2 spinners on Thursday :-[

Quote:Mappy you is a old dude.

old enuff.  Methuselah ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570817#msg570817 date=1403381847]
excellent posting rev.  you know yuh stuff>

I am sure they will play the 2 spinners on Thursday :-[

* I'd be shocked if the selectors play 2 spinners at Kensington.

* That would be the prudent thing to do.

* But the selectors may choose not to change a winning team.

* Personally I would play Shillingford ahead of Gabriel as the 4th bowler.

* I'm assuming Narine is still in the DOG HOUSE.

MY TEAM

gayle
brathwaite
Edwards
bravo
shiv
blackwood
ramdin
benn
roach
taylor
shillingford