west indies name first Test squad

krishna · 06-03-2014, 12:02 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

Ramdin seh " Oh gord boy , I aint ha notebook , I ha tablet since Viv time !  Tongue

Sad Sunil isn't there..Benn isn't as effect as narine is.He could be pounded easily.. Sad
Pace battery looks great with gabriel,roach and taylor..What happened to rampaul btw..?? Why isn't he on this list..??
and yeah the batting...looks good on paper,but..we needa wait.  :-[

There was a debate recently about Sunil Naraine willing to skip the national side for playing the IPL matches. I think it was started by Martin Crowe who made a very valid statement. The willingness of a player to forfeit playing a test series for his nation than to participate in an IPL T20 match just for three hours is ridiculous.

I think Gayle having his problems won't be picked and maybe rested for a match or two before given a game.

[quote author=foodietr link=topic=90217.msg567078#msg567078 date=1401877759]
There was a debate recently about Sunil Naraine willing to skip the national side for playing the IPL matches. I think it was started by Martin Crowe who made a very valid statement. The willingness of a player to forfeit playing a test series for his nation than to participate in an IPL T20 match just for three hours is ridiculous.

What nation??

Crowe know anything about the WICB. Why would any player in their right mind put the the WI/WICB first given the paltry money they paying and the way they still treat players.

NZ pay is way above WI pay.

Quote:The top contract reportedly earns an annual retainer of $181,425, with each rank below earning progressively about $6000 less, down to the bottom three contracts, which each earn a retainer of $73,000. This sounds like relatively modest rewards for playing international cricket, but in reality the additional match fees make a big difference.  For 2013/14 the match fees for the New Zealand men's team have been set at
NZ$7508 per test, $3250 per ODI and $2120 per T20I.
  If you consider the number of games played by the contract holders in the past 12 months you gain a rough idea of how much they might be earning in a year's cricket. The rewards are considerable. Naturally, emerging players may only have played for part of the last season so their tally for 2013/14 may differ considerably.

[quote author=foodietr link=topic=90217.msg567078#msg567078 date=1401877759]
The willingness of a player to forfeit playing a test series for his nation

foodie,

Trinidad and Tobago is Sunil Narine 's nation ...his Birthplace !

Sunil always plays for his country TnT Red Force

WICB is not a Country , not a Nation , jeez....dont even have a national anthem !

Please advise Crowe , accordingly ....thanks  Wink

the spin is hard.  Benn, Shilly and Narine are all deserving.

I wud do like Wadekar many years ago and play all 3.  I wud play 5 batsmen..bat Ramdin at 6 and 5 bowlers...

and my 2 pacers would be Gabriel and Taylor.  I would wait a while on roach.  Gabriel is fit and can be counted on to play 5 days.  Taylor at least has an R4D under his belt

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=90217.msg566995#msg566995 date=1401826451]
Game done in 3.5 days !

I see Sunil advised the WICB he in TnT  Wink
Look .. the bottom line is...

Sunil sey 'I'm back in T&T ... if allyuh want me, yuh know where I am BUT the bottom line is allyuh cocked up. I fulfilled my contractual obligations to KKR in IPL despite your stupidity knowing the Finals date.

Lemme just go back to counting my IPL winnings ... allyuh carry on !!! 
;D ;D 

[quote author=bala24 link=topic=90217.msg567077#msg567077 date=1401873695]
Benn isn't as effect as narine is.He could be pounded easily.. Sad

Plus the question is .... will Benn behave ?? :-\

Oh I was ignorant of the fact that WI players are not treating the WICB contract like playing for the motherland.

In most countries, playing for the national cricket board is equated to playing for the nation. I stand corrected and Crowe does not make much sense after all.