Coolie Woman

krishna · 04-07-2014, 01:45 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=88849.msg558397#msg558397 date=1396890562]
thats your interpretation
That is Historical fact , bro.

12.5 million ....that author Bahadur claims one third of that were Coolies voyage ..

"a traffic that was a third the size of the British slave trade ".

http://encyclopediavirginia.org/Slave_Sh...le_Passage

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=88849.msg558382#msg558382 date=1396889581]
the writer is a cousin of mine. i will go get it to read.

Give a us review when you're done reading it Krish.

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=88849.msg558401#msg558401 date=1396891741]
That is Historical fact , bro.

12.5 million ....that author Bahadur claims one third of that were Coolies voyage ..

"a traffic that was a third the size of the British slave trade ".

http://encyclopediavirginia.org/Slave_Sh...le_Passage
[/quote] I agree with you which is rather unusual . If she lied so blatantly with her statistics where else  has she lied with this book?.
I cant help in  believing now that book is not historical  but fiction

look kwami and ketch. you two are apologists. indenturseship was slvery. it was brutal. they were whipped.
they were raped.

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=88849.msg558469#msg558469 date=1396913158]
look kwami and ketch. you two are apologists. indenturseship was slvery. it was brutal. they were whipped.
they were raped.
[/quote] While the trip was hazardous , there has never been a case of rape to my knowledge and she lied in her figures regarding the amount Indians indentured as compared to the amount of Africans that was shipped in the middle passage .
She is exaggerating the plight of Indians on their journeys and also remember that the Indians came on their own free will as compared to Africans whose Journey was truly inhumane .
Jeez I feel like Ramesh for  saying this

[quote author=Snoopster link=topic=88849.msg558464#msg558464 date=1396908600]
Give a us review when you're done reading it Krish.

Not fair krish busy  bad ...buy de damn Book ....9 bucks + tax !

As kwami seh , it will be a good story  8)

LOL Kwame want lix, calling Krish cousin a liar, and to his face too ....  >Sad

“An astonishing document—both a historical rescue mission and a profound meditation on family and womanhood, Gaiutra Bahadur’s Coolie Woman spans continents and centuries, the private and the national, to bring to light the extraordinary lives of the author’s great-grandmother and the other quarter of a million coolie women that came to the New World as indentured laborers. Bahadur’s meticulous research and tireless perseverance have restored an important chapter in our histories—outstanding work.”

[quote author=Meseret link=topic=88849.msg558525#msg558525 date=1396966014]
LOL Kwame want lix, calling Krish cousin a liar, and to his face too ....  >Sad

can kwami read?

In 1903, a young woman sailed from India to Guiana as a “coolie”—the British name for indentured laborers who replaced the newly emancipated slaves on sugar plantations all around the world. Pregnant and traveling alone, this woman, like so many coolies, disappeared into history. Now, in Coolie Woman, her great-granddaughter Gaiutra Bahadur embarks on a journey into the past to find her. Traversing three continents and trawling through countless colonial archives, Bahadur excavates not only her great-grandmother’s story but also the repressed history of some quarter of a million other coolie women, shining a light on their complex lives.