Why is India still #2???

DownUnda · 02-18-2014, 11:11 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

India continue to be winless abroad but remain number two?!!! I nuh understand that rating system!...should start fresh every couple years!

Even though India has been winless in the past 14 away tests, their performance on their home turf has been very good. They beat Australia last year convincingly with a score of 5-0 only last year. And then beat the West Indies 2-0 last November. So, even if they have not been able to perform on their travels, their performance at home has been nothing short of exemplary. But, in hindsight, I think that the number 2 spot on the rankings is a bit of an overstatement of their performance.

[quote author=Mr. Mo link=topic=87756.msg550371#msg550371 date=1392732703]
They're winless in 14 consecutive away tests, 4 draws and 10 losses

What the heck?

Mr. Mo I was asking about this yesterday .....

NZ have gone up one spot to #7 with the series win with WI dropping down to #8

I believe the #2 spot has something to do with the outcome of the SA/AUS series .... it's all very confusing !!ย  ::confused::

IKR well they do have all that money, maybe they're paying off the powers that be...

[quote author=pahagwl link=topic=87756.msg550425#msg550425 date=1392741156]
Even though India has been winless in the past 14 away tests, their performance on their home turf has been very good. They beat Australia last year convincingly with a score of 5-0 only last year. And then beat the West Indies 2-0 last November. So, even if they have not been able to perform on their travels, their performance at home has been nothing short of exemplary. But, in hindsight, I think that the number 2 spot on the rankings is a bit of an overstatement of their performance.

How did they do in Aus last tour?

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_cr...E2%80%9312

[quote author=Calypso link=topic=87756.msg550484#msg550484 date=1392763652]
Mr. Mo I was asking about this yesterday .....

NZ have gone up one spot to #7 with the series win with WI dropping down to #8

I believe the #2 spot has something to do with the outcome of the SA/AUS series .... it's all very confusing !!ย  ::confused::

Cal, we will move into 2nd if we win the series in SA. We're jus 1 point behind Ind at present

This is why I hate the ranking system. Doesn't differentiate between home and away tests. Which is of course, very convenient for India.

And they'll stay at #2 if SA win this series by any margin. I don't know about drawing though. Either way SA will stay at top I suppose. I hope Oz makes it to #2 beating SA, which looks like a great possibility as it stands.