Why is India still #2??? - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html) +--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html) +--- Thread: Why is India still #2??? (/thread-16229.html) |
Why is India still #2??? - DownUnda - 02-18-2014 They're winless in 14 consecutive away tests, 4 draws and 10 losses What the heck? https://www.facebook.com/Cricinfo/posts/10151937156407555:0 Re: Why is India still #2??? - elcosteno - 02-18-2014 India continue to be winless abroad but remain number two?!!! I nuh understand that rating system!...should start fresh every couple years! Re: Why is India still #2??? - pahagwl - 02-18-2014 Even though India has been winless in the past 14 away tests, their performance on their home turf has been very good. They beat Australia last year convincingly with a score of 5-0 only last year. And then beat the West Indies 2-0 last November. So, even if they have not been able to perform on their travels, their performance at home has been nothing short of exemplary. But, in hindsight, I think that the number 2 spot on the rankings is a bit of an overstatement of their performance. Re: Why is India still #2??? - Calypso - 02-18-2014 [quote author=Mr. Mo link=topic=87756.msg550371#msg550371 date=1392732703] They're winless in 14 consecutive away tests, 4 draws and 10 losses What the heck? [/quote] Mr. Mo I was asking about this yesterday ..... NZ have gone up one spot to #7 with the series win with WI dropping down to #8 I believe the #2 spot has something to do with the outcome of the SA/AUS series .... it's all very confusing !! ::confused:: Re: Why is India still #2??? - SeanM - 02-18-2014 IKR well they do have all that money, maybe they're paying off the powers that be... Re: Why is India still #2??? - DownUnda - 02-18-2014 [quote author=pahagwl link=topic=87756.msg550425#msg550425 date=1392741156] Even though India has been winless in the past 14 away tests, their performance on their home turf has been very good. They beat Australia last year convincingly with a score of 5-0 only last year. And then beat the West Indies 2-0 last November. So, even if they have not been able to perform on their travels, their performance at home has been nothing short of exemplary. But, in hindsight, I think that the number 2 spot on the rankings is a bit of an overstatement of their performance. [/quote] How did they do in Aus last tour? http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_cricket_team_in_Australia_in_2011%E2%80%9312 Re: Why is India still #2??? - DownUnda - 02-18-2014 [quote author=Calypso link=topic=87756.msg550484#msg550484 date=1392763652] Mr. Mo I was asking about this yesterday ..... NZ have gone up one spot to #7 with the series win with WI dropping down to #8 I believe the #2 spot has something to do with the outcome of the SA/AUS series .... it's all very confusing !! ::confused:: [/quote] Cal, we will move into 2nd if we win the series in SA. We're jus 1 point behind Ind at present Re: Why is India still #2??? - Kyle - 02-19-2014 This is why I hate the ranking system. Doesn't differentiate between home and away tests. Which is of course, very convenient for India. And they'll stay at #2 if SA win this series by any margin. I don't know about drawing though. Either way SA will stay at top I suppose. I hope Oz makes it to #2 beating SA, which looks like a great possibility as it stands. Re: Why is India still #2??? - ketchim - 02-19-2014 http://www.icc-cricket.com/team-rankings/test West Indies above Bangladesh !