Women Lung muscles

ketchim · 11-09-2013, 03:26 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

[size=12pt]Women's lung muscles have to work harder than men's :

making breathlessness more common after exercise,

say scientists in Canada.[/size]

Their study in the journal Experimental Physiology examined :

the activity of the diaphragm - the muscle that drives lung function.  Wink

It had to work harder in women to compensate for smaller lungs....

The research was conducted at McGill University.....Montreal !

"In both health and diseases, women are more likely to show signs of breathlessness

after physical activity than men,"

said lead researcher Dr Dennis Jensen.

"Women have biologically smaller lungs and they have to activate respiratory muscles more to move a given amount of air."

He said it was an "important insight into why women with emphysema and heart failure have worse breathing symptoms than men".

The study compared 25 men and 25 women , exercising on a bicycle.

Even with a man and a woman of equal size , Kwami and socafighter :  [img alt=::LOL::]http://www.westindiesforum.com/Smileys/forum/laughing.png[/img]

socafighter lungs are smaller and her airways narrower.

BUT she mouth bigger with nuff Picong , mamaguy and bacchanal !

Now, now ketch there you go including me . Have you no respect for my wit all this time?
I could easily have said that you don't need no expert from Mc Gill to tell you about women physiology  when you are an expert yourself .
After  all  three women left you but like I said , I wont say it 8)

Your wit is more like without .....but I wont say it  Tongue

I thought that you would more  of an expert on thigh muscles rather than lung muscles  being the wuk bench king and all 8)