Quote:I want you to name any of the current 1thru 7 lineup.
ovah the past 5 years :
that can lace Sarwan boots OR carry his jockstrap
cricket is done in certain ways. a player is picked to bat. if he does not score in some reasonable amount of time it is not usual to continue with him.
during the time he plays he is observed and assessed to his worth, talent, emotional strength etc. if that player had established himself and fell on hard times he is a known quantity and it all depends on if he can come back..blossom again
he commands an opportunity, a fair chance to prove himself once more. if he does not score in that time it must be assume he has run his course after a career. Sars ended up failing against worse Indian and Pak bowling than he had beaten in the past.
you have to drop that player and try the next in line especially if young. the young can always sooprise..never the older!
let him rise again. I doh mind. I look forward to anything of the sort. he was a terrific performer for the west indies.
but he was treated fairly. that's my point!
he was treated more than fairly. he got all he could have ever hoped for in the end. that he is not on the team is that he has not scored..did not score in a long period and had to be dropped.
He was indeed treated fairly and no one can deny that but this man is talented and I hope from a windies supporter point of view that he can re establish himself.
I wish him well
Sarwan does not seem to have the will and character to rise.
Yes Gibson may have been awful to him but he should have risen above that and score like mad with Leicester.
That he failed to do and was fortunate to get a recall where he did not seem to know which end of the bat to hold.
Quite sad really but I fear he is finished...kaput.
[quote author=Mail link=topic=84598.msg527785#msg527785 date=1383010060]
Sarwan does not seem to have the will and character to rise.
Yes Gibson may have been awful to him but he should have risen above that and score like mad with Leicester.
That he failed to do and was fortunate to get a recall where he did not seem to know which end of the bat to hold.
Quite sad really but I fear he is finished...kaput.
[/quote] I really believe that he will regain his form and take his rightful place in the windies side
I would be very happy should this be the case.
Gayle was similarly chastised as was Shiv but they let their bats do the talking.
Anyway I do wish the young man well.