Another blow for South African team

Gina145 · 10-20-2013, 12:52 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

Allan Donald has returned home from South Africa's tour of the UAE due to personal reasons. With Hashim Amla already likely to miss the second test, this puts added pressure on the team.

Former bowling coach Vincent Barnes will stand in for Donald during his "extended leave of absence".

SA need not panic as it is roughly the same team to get them to Number 1.
Amla would be a big blow but the others like Faf, AB, Duminy, Smith need to fire.
Many teams struggle in Pakistan's neutral venue but they can square the series.
No need to panic.

Meh. I would be more worried about Amla missing out, if anything. Yes, Faf and AB needs to step up IMO. Duminy I do trust to hold fort, but Smith is pretty much useless in these conditions, I would be surprised if he comes out good. And Virus (Peterson) is pretty much a walking wicket here.

So who's gonna replace Amla? Elgar?

Dale Steyn has tweaked something and did not bowl in the nets today.

"I want to win the series. One-nil is just as good as two-nil. I won't be upset if we don't win as long as we finish the game well" Whatmore

darn ....hashim absence has sent AB to overtake his # 1 spot  :-[

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=84287.msg526836#msg526836 date=1382627923]
darn ....hashim absence has sent AB to overtake his # 1 spot  :-[

And there were those who thought that keeping wicket would have a deterimental effect on his batting.  ;D

I am one such ....only because I thought he should save some back strength :

for his just married Wife !

Cant leave all Energy on a cricket field  Wink