VitaminsGeddon !

ketchim · 10-18-2013, 01:45 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

[Image: _70531722_large.jpg]

Millions of people swear by vitamin supplements.

But many are wasting their time and some could even be harming themselves  Sad

I want to get into this in a bit more detail because the vitamin companies :

certainly don't agree with me.  Tongue

So why do we believe they're useful and why do we take them ?

they are supposed to be used a supplement...hence the name "supplement" to many brands.

The Myth of A ~ K :  :-[
  • [li] Vitamin A needed for good vision, healthy skin and growth; found in green and yellow vegetables and dairy products. Deficiency can cause night blindness, xerophthalmia (lack of tears) and ultimately blindness as a result of corneal damage[/li]
  • [li] Vitamin B needed for healthy skin, and helping body release energy; found in bread, milk and eggs[/li]
  • [li] Vitamin B12 needed for red blood cells; found in meat, milk and fish[/li]
  • [li] Vitamin C - needed for healthy skin, cell protection and iron absorption; found in fruit and vegetables[/li]
  • [li] Vitamin D - needed for strong teeth and bones; found in margarine and oily fish[/li]
  • [li] Vitamin E - needed for cell protection; found in nuts, seeds and cereals[/li]
  • [li] Vitamin K - needed for blood clotting; found in green vegetables and cereals[/li]

[quote author=Goog Lee link=topic=84237.msg525902#msg525902 date=1382114864]

they are supposed to be used a supplement...hence the name "supplement" to many brands.

This piece is about what we have learned about vitamin supplements in the last few years -

if you are healthy, and you live in a country like Canada, taking multi-vitamins

and high-dose antioxidants may shorten your life. :o

[size=12pt]
"I spend loads of money on them and the claims on the packet are really persuasive.

Everything, from my full head of hair to my sex life, depends on them !"[/size]  ::LOL::

The problem is that we all feel very warm and fuzzy about vitamins because :

The tales of deficiency are so horrific

We read breakfast cereal packs

A double-Nobel laureate called Linus Pauling liked vitamin C in vast, vast doses.

All this is packaged by the people now selling us vitamins over the counter:

into that most beguiling of all logical falsehoods - 

if a little is good, then more must be better. :-[

I take cod liver in the wintah to compensate fuh lack of sunlight.

wen I exercise a lot like this summer I take protein supplements to put back what I put out....

but thats it fuh me.  I ent taking no coctails of vitamins..and most especially because of who make dem.

the protein I use is Sanatogen.  and 7 Seas Cod Liver oil.  both are brands we have known in the west indies for genertions