boomer
28 Aug 2015 10:16 #269245
by boomer
The England batsman Ian Bell has retired from one-day international cricket after being left out of England's two most recent limited overs squads.
Bell, 33, was dropped from the one-day side after England's disappointing performance at the 2015 World Cup and few pundits expected him to have a future in the format at international level. There was speculation that he might retire from Test cricket as he hinted that he was "considering his future" after England's Ashes victory; however he recently wrote in his column in The Metro: "Deep down, I think I probably knew I wasn’t ready to call time on my England Test career."
bala24
28 Aug 2015 10:41 #269256
by bala24
Good decision to retire from ODI.England might need him for another 2 years at least.
The thing is Ian Bell is being pressured too much and being asked to bat too high up the order. He is not a top-order batsman - he's a middle-order to lower-middle-order batsman. He plays best at either 5 or 6.
With Root in the team and another good batsman in the middle order he can shine down at No. 5.
he surely deserves another run,though he has been patchy all along.
28 Aug 2015 11:38 #269264
by Rowe992
Well these English cricketers seem to do the opposite of what other international cricketers do. Why not retire from test in order to save yourself from injuries and focus on t20 cricket to make some big money?
28 Aug 2015 13:37 #269323
by dillinger10
Because Test cricket is far more prestigious. Although, in saying that, have you taken a look at the ECB central contracts recently? £650,000 retainer fee plus £12,000 per Test.
As an aside, I saw the thread title and got all excited, thinking that Bell had retired from all international cricket. As such, this almost certainly guarantees that he will be in the team against Pakistan.
28 Aug 2015 13:50 #269328
I guess you live in england and support the pommies...
for me all of that is an england problem..not mine. in fact I am happy that it is problematic for them..trouble in deh nose.
the england batting line is dysfunctional. they need a #3. the only man deh who can do dat effectively is the captain himself. but that may work only if Mooen can actually open the innings, allowing the captain to drop down. I doubt that Mooen can open however..so england is doomed to keep pressing in Bell who will fail at #3 and hasten his retirement
yes england has problems and they are welcome to them ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
28 Aug 2015 14:14 #269334
by dillinger10
For me, dropping Cook down to 3 would be akin to shuffling deckchairs on the Titanic. England have had a hard enough time over the last 3 years trying to find an opening partner for Cook. By dropping Cook down to three, the selectors would need to find 2 new openers.
England are actually running out of potential openers as it is. Lyth, Carberry, Compton, Robson, Root and Trott have all failed in recent years. Moeen has never opened the batting in First-class cricket. For me, he is not a Test opener, he is a good middle-order batsman that is still learning his trade as a spinner.
Alex Hales seems the most likely candidate to open with Cook against Pakistan. If not Hales, Alex Lees is a possibility, although he is still very young and not had the greatest of seasons for Yorkshire. Alternatively, they could turn back to Compton once more, who has had a good year for Middlesex.
I would like to see Ballance return to the team again. I thought he was hard done by to have been given the boot - although I think he was more a victim of circumstances - with Lyth, Bell and he all short of runs, a change needed to be made. They couldn't drop Lyth and they wanted to stick with the experience of Bell, and so Ballance was the de facto fall guy. Though if he does return to the team, I hope he plays in his more natural position of 4 or 5 in the order. Forcing players to bat at positions they are not used to is a recipe for disaster.
28 Aug 2015 14:22 #269336
there is a good man..Carberry. but he is what 34 now!
Carberry and Hales. Carberry is not really inexperienced. Cook, Bell Root and Mooen at 6. keeper, Broad, Finn etc
dats a a way indeed. but they will not play Carberry again.
28 Aug 2015 14:35 #269340
by dillinger10
Carberry was certainly very hard done by. He was thrown to the wolves to face Australia in Australia and had 3 scores of 50+. At some point in time, England are going to have to pick an opener and stick with him through the learning curves. If they keep dumping batsman after 6 matches, there won't be many left to choose from.
Ian Bell retires from one-day international cricket
Time to create page: 0.189 seconds