my wife cud not cook water if she boiled it in a pot. the fus' meal she made fuh me was pure hell..... smoked herring that was brine itself. she loved west indian food
but I ate it and licked my lips. oh guuuuuuuuuuude! :
: :
allyuh tink we tes' an dem easy :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
but it was no concern to me because I liked my own food. I have a an excellent hand when it comes to cooking and I wanted no other food but mine. it was just that way with me.
I was always looking to make a fine meal for myself, and looking for the ingredients to do so in shops in Toronto....and Trinidad even before. I cud not pass a food shop that looked anyway different, interesting, exotic..prepared food or grocery..that I did not look into. I could not pass them straight
and if I liked a food I would not stop until I could make it myself..the way I wanted it. I can make all kinds of food now..emphasis on ALL!
over the years my wife became the same way. she became an excellent cook till I was embarrassed one day when I made a roast tomatoes choker and my kids said "Moms choker is better!"
with my over-confident self I had asked dem... 'allyuh like dat choker!!! ::confused::'
'Mom's choker is better!'
oh guuuuuude! ego 'dephlation'!
WHAT!!!!!!!!
oh well.
what happened is dat she used to hang with some west indian indian women who showed her directly. she was very interested in cooking as I said and she took to it like duck to wartuh.
it was the same with roti and curry and in time I forgot about cooking . she became very good just like that...as natural as daylight rises in the mawnin...no prompting or anything of the sort.
the early key is that I cud cook, loved to cook and cooking for my family was no problem at all. all flowed as it did from dat