Emergency rule extended for 3 months in Trinidad

05 Sep 2011 09:12 #47917 by chairman
PORT OF SPAIN: Lawmakers in Trinidad and Tobago approved a three-month extension of a  state of emergency on Sunday after  Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said it had averted "a criminal uprising" in the energy-rich country.

The measure, suspending some constitutional guarantees and giving the police and military sweeping powers to make arrests, was first declared on Aug. 21 and had been due to expire on Monday.

Parliament approved the three-month extension with a simple majority vote after Persad-Bissessar said the "criminal underworld" was bent on sowing "bloodshed and mayhem" in the south Caribbean country.

Trinidad, a leading exporter of liquefied natural gas to the  United States , has faced a growing crime problem stemming from heavily armed street gangs.

Members of the opposition People's National Movement voted against the extension of the emergency rule, saying it was unfairly targeting black communities in the twin-island nation, which is divided almost equally between descendants of black Africans and East Indians.

But Persad-Bissessar told a parliamentary debate the emergency, which has led to more than 1,400 arrests so far, was strictly aimed at halting runaway crime.

It was clamped on the country after police blamed a recent spate of murders on the drug trade and turf wars over smuggling routes through Trinidad and Tobago, which is a trans-shipment point for South American cocaine headed to Europe and the United States.

In her comments to parliament, Persad-Bissessar said the emergency was also required to prevent violent reprisals against the police and other authorities for recent drug seizures in Trinidad.

"The nation had been saved from a criminal uprising of untold proportions. That did not occur. It was stopped in its tracks with the state of emergency," Persad-Bissessar said.

"The threat to public safety, law and order was real and imminent. The planned retaliation by the gangs involved in the drug trade represented a clear and present danger to national security and innocent law-abiding citizens of this country," she said.

05 Sep 2011 20:24 #47951 by Kwami
maps with tunnel vision will never accept that this is the appropriate policy

06 Sep 2011 10:10 #47984 by chairman
its cut down a lot of murders

06 Sep 2011 11:28 - 06 Sep 2011 11:41 #48006 by mapoui

:cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:  lovely! sweet Kwami  but look here nuh!

BLOOD and CRIPS were political acronyms..dat is the names deh described were of amercian blac groups organised for political activity to help raise the people up off the social floor.

but deh were never so treated by the american MSM..deh were always treated as street crime gangs fighting each other over territory and fought by the police, eliminated by the cops/FBI etc.

no internal revolution wud be permitted.  it was Blac Panthers revisted  and COINTELPRO!

now yu tell me this!  since when do crime gangs organise/collectivise to commit crime on such a scale as to warrant a state of emergency?

it does not compute, cannot compute!  such a thing has never hapened in history as far as I know. 

yet crime can become so rampant that states of emergencey can be called to deal with it. 

but again, I dont know of any historical precendent..save perhaps when nutty Giuliani went crazy as mayor New York.

if Kamla talks about street gangs organised in Titty for anything at all it wud be parties of young, ordinary locked-out people fed up with the status quo, and getting ready to do something about it.

deh wud have been organising for political action intended to force social change in Titty..motived at least in part by developments next door in Venezueala perhaps

deh wud be fed up with unemployment and crime..about which no goverment in Titty has done anything for at least 25 years. 

it appears dat crime is a political weapon and strategy that all Titty political parties use against the people.

in fact it is the various governments that organised the crime gangs, fostered such culture by feeding those gangs by government programs of temporary employment, shared out through the gang bosses.

Kamla wud not be calling a state of emergency for those gangs for they are government controlled.

so who those now described as street gangs organised for massive crime...an illogicality or oxymoron..unless the 'crime' Kamla is talking about is massive demonstrations that may catch fiyah in a situation that calls for such social protest, ripe for social unrest, and would likely lead to social upheaval and overthrow of the staus quo?

all you need to do is read between the lines.  you dont have to be there to see wats actully going on. 

the Titty status quo is afraid of the people, scared shiiteless... and so they have imposed a state of emergency. 

it is unfair, unjust and lust plain stupid, calculated to worsen the situation.

the people are aware of all this,  deh are now put under un-ending privation and restriction of movement..in addition to all dat alread ails them,, for no good reason save the fear of the people by the elites. 

those elites may not know it, but the longer deh keep SOE in place the wose its going to get for them. 

the people may reach a limit and at dat point no divide and rule, no racism dat seperates the people will save them.

there is no alternative ultimately to addressing honestly the needs of the all the people of the nation..the very cause of all the social unrest dat no SOE is going to protect the c elites ultimately

deh will have to call in the americans to save them and when deh do that we all know what will happen.  it will be Libya in the Caribbean south..in our beloved Titty, razed and destroyed, thousands killed, wounded and incapacitated
Last edit: 06 Sep 2011 11:41 by mapoui.

06 Sep 2011 13:52 #48045 by SCA
BLOOD and CRIPS were political acronyms..dat is the names deh described were of amercian blac groups organised for political activity to help raise the people up off the social floor.

That is a lie...Maps..you are a big man, and smart enough to articulate an argument...no need to peddle misinformation.

06 Sep 2011 13:57 #48048 by SCA
ROBOCOP ON MURDER RAP...blames politics for arrestStory Created: Sep 6, 2011 ECT
Story Updated: Sep 6, 2011 at 1:07 AM ECT Selwyn "Robocop" Alexis, who appeared in court yesterday charged with murder six days after his arrest, is claiming that "politics" was the reason for his arrest, detention, and prosecution.
"This is politics, ent? Politics man, politics," Alexis said as he left the San Fernando Second Court yesterday afternoon, where he was charged with killing a man in Enterprise, Chaguanas, two years ago.
The charge was laid by homicide investigator Sgt Anderson Parriman, a week after Alexis was arrested during a raid at his rented apartment at the affluent One Woodbrook Place, Woodbrook.
Around 3.25 p.m yesterday, a dark tinted sport utility vehicle, escorted by a police vehicle with sirens blaring, arrived at the court with Alexis.
Officers of the Crime Suppression Unit and Homicide Department secured the area.
Twenty minutes later a handcuffed Alexis appeared before Justice of the Peace Jackie Sergeant.
She read the charge that on October 7, 2008, he along with other persons, while at Nimblett Street, Enterprise, murdered Vincent Emmanuel Simmons.
Simmons was sitting in the porch of his home at Michael Terrace, off Nimblett Street, Enterprise, when two men walked up and shot him three times in the head. Simmons, a national of St Vincent, died at the house.
Alexis, 45, was told yesterday he will be remanded in custody until today when he will be taken before a Chaguanas magistrate.
"Ok ma'am," said Alexis said. He had no legal representation.
He remained standing in the holding bay of the court.
"That's it?" he asked.
Sergeant nodded.
"Politics, ent?" he said, as he looked in the direction of reporters.
"Have a nice day. Politics man, politics," were his last words as he raised his handcuffed hands above his head before being led to the basement of the court.
Alexis, of Enterprise, was detained last week by officers of the Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU).
He was taken from Woodbrook to the Gasparillo Police Station. He was then represented by attorney Joseph Honore, and questioned by Southern Homicide Division investigators.
During his stay at the station, it is alleged a Nokia cellular phone and a quantity of foreign and local currency were found in the holding cell.
Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs has ordered an investigation.
Alexis, who was charged multiple times in the past with kidnapping, extortion and perverting the course of public justice, has at least two criminal charges pending in court.

07 Sep 2011 10:23 #48083 by mapoui
pick any crime SCA...or bunch of crimes..indeed all the crimes...ans ask all the whys, and hows, and whens...den apply SOE as curative!

pcik any problem you like,..illness, fiyahs, joblessness, road constrution and deterioration, urban renewal, racism, police brutality, laziness, crime...the lack of police mobnildity because the goernemtn does not buy vehicles for them at trhe same time buying 20 hunderd  for a week-long international conference..vehicles unsuitable in the end for police work...

pick them all or individuall and apply SOE and Presto...we have a solution.  lock down the country for 3 months den and wen it is doen all problems gorne.

after dat is only light and sweetness...camelot, nirvana, heaven re-locates out of the sky and in death and into Titty.

now why did'nt deh all think of dat all the time!

07 Sep 2011 10:30 #48085 by mapoui
oh!  I forgot Stovo'kor'! ::rofl:: ::rofl:: ::rofl::

Time to create page: 0.230 seconds
ketchimLost the final Game but win series 3 games to 2 !(05.05.2024, 12:27)(12:27)0
NasirJohnson Charles 101* off 55 balls vs Nepal today

On the day the West Indies WC squad is named, a timely knock to remind us of what he is capable of
(01.05.2024, 13:09)(13:09)0
ketchimNepal beat West Indies in 1st T20 !(27.04.2024, 11:00)(11:00)0
CindyYes he is trying commentator gig !(26.04.2024, 21:52)(21:52)0
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
Jaylen