99% Waitress gets a tip

Captain · 02-27-2012, 05:53 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

[Image: tip1_lg.jpg]

Just when you may have thought the ongoing battle between the 99% and the 1% was dying down, it may have been reignited. A wealthy banker left a $1.33 tip on a $133 lunch at the True Food Kitchen restaurant in Newport Beach, California.
To add insult to injury the word "tip" was circled on the receipt, and the banker wrote "get a real job" on the bill. The picture of the receipt was taken and uploaded to the blog Future Ex-Banker by a person who was dining with the anonymous banker. As expected, the blog received a lot of attention and has now been taken down. The author of the blog wrote, "mention the 99% in my boss' presence and feel his wrath. So proudly does he wear his 1% badge of honor that he tips exactly 1% every time he feels the server doesn't sufficiently bow down to his holiness."
People online who had a chance to see the blog post before it went offline and those who have been made aware of it on social media outlets are outraged. One person called the tip a "tale of greed and contempt," and another referred to it as "arrogance personified." The Web's general reaction to this story is eerily similar to an almost identical 1% vs. 99% scenario that took place last fall. In Washington state, a waitress received a tip of no money and advice scrawled on the receipt that told her she could "stand to lose a few pounds."

what a lowlife , meself personally , if I have drinks alone it is 10% tip, with food it's 15% tips .

Tips is an Acronym.....that no one knows about !

Methink it read as > To Improve Polite / Professional Service...

The Capitalist has now been using it to underpay his Staff and expects

to foist upon an unwilling Public / Patrons to give them some change :

while he reaps the Profit on his Overpriced meals !  :Rolleyes:

Now , Tips to Strippers is a whole new Ball game  ::rofl::

[quote author=The Captain link=topic=63958.msg400235#msg400235 date=1330375985]

the banker wrote "get a real job" on the bill.

told her she could "stand to lose a few pounds."

These chaps handling it wrong !

Write to the restaurant owner and Demand he PAY his servers properly !

28 bucks for a Steak :

with 15 % makes de steak , like 33 bucks .

Why ?

So someone can bring it to meh table  :Rolleyes: :Rolleyes:

If you ever went to a banquet at any hotel you will see added on to the bill is a 15% gratuity   

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=63958.msg400255#msg400255 date=1330383661]
28 bucks for a Steak :

with 15 % makes de steak , like 33 bucks .

Why ?

So someone can bring it to meh table  :Rolleyes: :Rolleyes:
[/quote] would you rather they  charge you $33.00 for the steak?

Banquet Halls are NOT comparable to a Lunch Menu restaurant !

Buffets also looking fuh Tips  :Rolleyes:

[quote author=Kwami link=topic=63958.msg400258#msg400258 date=1330383919]
would you rather they  charge you $33.00 for the steak?

NO !

I prefer the Cook bring it to me :

IF dem cannot afford a Server  ::redface::