Carnival !!

ketchim · 02-21-2012, 01:28 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

The name J'ouvert originates from the French jour ouvert :

meaning day break or morning,

and signals the start of the bacchanalia that is Carnival........ Cool

T he 'Five Disciplines of Carnival' are :  :wink:

[table]              [tr]              [td][img alt=Notting Hill Carnival tips Caribbean London height=50 width=45]http://www.itzcaribbean.com/images/numbers1.jpg[/img][/td]                [td][left]Mas or Masquerade
              The carnival costumes made for the processions and decorated floats

[/left][/td]                            [/tr]          [/table]                 

[table]              [tr]              [td][img alt=Notting Hill Carnival tips Caribbean London height=50 width=48]http://www.itzcaribbean.com/images/numbers2.jpg[/img][/td]                [td][left]Steel Pan
            Traditional  instrument which is either static, or worn around the neck, from Trinidad 

[table]              [tr]              [td][img alt=Notting Hill Carnival tips Caribbean London height=50 width=47]http://www.itzcaribbean.com/images/numbers3.jpg[/img][/td]                [td][left]Calypso
            Traditional Trinidadian political and satirical commentary set to music 

[table]              [tr]              [td][img alt=Notting Hill Carnival tips Caribbean London height=50 width=49]http://www.itzcaribbean.com/images/numbers4.jpg[/img][/td]                [td][left]Soca
          High energy Trinidadian carnival music. 'Soca On The Move' refers to the soca music being played for the masqueraders costume bands also known as 'Carnival Mas Band' 

[table][tr][td][img alt=Notting Hill Carnival tips Caribbean London height=50 width=52]http://www.itzcaribbean.com/images/numbers5.jpg[/img][/td]                [td][left]Sound systems
            Originally from Jamaica, playing hi
p hop, rnb, reggae, roots and culture calypso, soca music [/left][/td][/tr][/table]

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=63756.msg399235#msg399235 date=1329841718]
Rio Or  Trinidad ?  ::lol:: ::lol::

[Image: _58581706_gladiatorsafp.jpg]                 

You finally decided to post your photograph!!!Pink is not your colour!!!!

No worries....i 'll wear Orange for Trinidad  Cool

[Image: Carnival%2B2.jpg]

Is it Mardi Gras in New Orleans ....as well ??

[quote author=Sultana link=topic=63756.msg399275#msg399275 date=1329850647]

You finally decided to post your photograph!!!Pink is not your colour!!!!

what are these really...trinny trannys?

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=63756.msg399336#msg399336 date=1329874195]

why arent you at carnival

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=63756.msg399341#msg399341 date=1329880323]
why arent you at carnival

i sent my representatives and ambassadors.  deh will report in a week :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=63756.msg399336#msg399336 date=1329874195]

naaahhh ....Brazilians !

so are those skinny butts ..

Trini gyals cheeks are more bouncy    ::rofl::

Oh me Mummah !  Cool

[Image: 429748_10150666553301195_336507736194_11...9444_n.jpg]