Another Puerto Rican Wake Up Call

mapoui · 09-29-2017, 05:12 PM

while Trump attacking football players all the time he is doing nothing for hurricane ravaged Puerto  Rico

Same thing in the Virgin Islands but we know deh doh care about the nig nogs deh.

but Puerto Ricans white..how he treat dem so ::confused:: ::confused::

time for puerto rican independence

Man they left Puerto Rico to fend for themselves

[quote author=CHAIRMAN link=topic=111522.msg749094#msg749094 date=1506720960]
Man they left Puerto Rico to fend for themselves

after they looted it over the past 10 years or so by debt exploitation.  it  was broke before the hurricane.  now the hurricane has made it broken and broken.

according to this man the country is dying before our eyes.
https://www.counterpunch.org/2017/09/29/...erto-rico/

Quote:Puerto Rico is dying.

Let those words sink in.

Three and a half million people are without power, water, fuel, food, and support. This isn’t some uninhabited atoll. This is where I grew up. This is where my family lives. This is my home.

And my home is dying.

I have been desperately trying to come up with the right words to express what I feel and what I think for the better part of a day. My social media has as of late provided me with a space to write my remarks, observations, and more often than not, rants about the situation on Puerto Rico. I shared my anxieties when hours, then days passed without a word from my family. I cried in silent sobs at the pictures that slowly started to come out of the island. Despair began to unite the large Puerto Rican diaspora as we comforted each other, and waited as the absolute silence became more and more unbearable.

“Have you heard from…”

“Does anyone have any information about my hometown…”

“My mom, she’s not well, I can’t reach her…”

“I can’t find my partner…”

It was only last Friday when I had proof of life from my family in my hometown of Arecibo. And it was on Sunday that I was finally able to speak to them over the phone. Speak… more like share moments of absolute joy and tears of happiness. Of feeling born again. And with that memory fresh in my mind, I sat down to write.

Nothing came except tears. I’m crying as I write this.

this  below is what is going to go on.  deh go drive the people out.. or mek dem starve to death

https://www.counterpunch.org/2017/09/29/...erto-rico/

Quote:There are many reasons to oppose colonialism. And there are many images which seer into the mind the utterly destructive nature of colonialism. My own favorite example is a horrific picture from the “Belgian” Congo of a despondent Congolese man on the sunny porch of some Euro-style home looking with total forlornness at the severed hands and feet of his children. As was policy at the time, they probably did not work hard enough for the rapacious chocolatiers and paid the price with their limbs. Only one word emerged from my lips the first time I saw that picture: revolution. This is what the word was meant for. No human relationship that so devalues a child’s life (and by extension, their parents’ and their entire culture) deserves to stand. It must be destroyed forever. Fanon’s knife needs to be drawn on occasion.

Some might say the recent Puerto Rico crisis is nowhere near the alarming brutality of those times. Regularly counseled patience and indoctrinated to believe the US ultimately has its interests at heart, too many Puertoricans have abandoned their own dignity to apologize for the relationships´ many failures. There are now more Puertoricans on the mainland (4.9 million) than living on the island (3.5) and PR has more people than 21 US states. So one would think the news of Hurricane Maria would be regular, the media coverage vigorous, and the convoys of aid immediate. No such luck. 1.5 million people now lack potable water. Since last week. The pictures of devastation are sobering. And as of last night (the 26th), the first reported deaths due to generators failing (there still is no electricity) have been relayed. This is an enormous crisis. There are many who suspect that there is no surprise here. That the slow starvation of Puertoricans out of their homes, over to the US where they will then “assilmilate” and call themselves “Americans” proudly while the vultures buy and chop up the island into manageable pieces for their rich cronies, has been the goal for years and is de facto the plan. There will be plenty of quislings to help them, too. If we needed any more proof (we really don´t) of the US attitude and intentions to PR, it´s here today.

I wud not be worried about Puerto Rico is all of them went home with whatever they had, kicked out the americans and rebuild their country with their own hands.

that's the answer...independence.  Chairman is absolutely right...INDEPENDENCE!

they dont need no phucking aid from stinkin, skunt trump.  they want to get rid of Trumps face as a factor in their national life.  period!  and when they are ready no doubt the Chinese would give them good re-building loans, at proper interest...not Shylock loans they get from the Joos