Indentured labor in the Caribbean marked the beginning of disease, dependencies, prejudices, and ills that continue to plague Indo-Caribbean communities
By Rajiv Mohabir
June 2, 2016 | British colonization, Caribbean, Guyana, Indian Arrival Day, forced migration, indentured labor
Media Gallery
Each year on May 5 Guyana celebrates “Indian Arrival Day,†commemorating the arrival of Indian indentured laborers to the Caribbean. On May 5, 1838, the S.S. Hesperus and the S.S. Whitby arrived along the shores of Berbice and Demerara in Guyana. Together they carried 396 Indians, referred to as “coolies,†from Chota Nagpur, then Bihar, 300 miles from Kolkata. Since slavery had recently ended and African-descended people had been emancipated in the British colonies in 1833, the British were in need of cheap labor. They looked to India, the jewel in the Empire’s crown—a jewel that became a sugar crystal.
well is how yuh observe the day. who say celebrate. observe it for wat it was..truthfully. t
dat helps to put reality, then as now, and through the years into right its perspective..helps see what a good future can be...how to make a good future right here...rather there in the west indies
[quote author=ketchim link=topic=109916.msg738374#msg738374 date=1496331623]
When I came to Canada was learning the subway and bus routes
I asked a matured, sophisticated looking white man for some directions.
He looked at me and said "Hit the road and fock off"
From that day onward, I never asked a white man, anything !
and I will never ....
what I discovered is that deh did not know anyway..and true..deh wud not tell you even if they did. white man living next to Bloor. and he doh know if you ask him..literally doh know. I simply used to get lost and work my way through and presto in knew the city in 3 months.
and when I got a car even more. it wud not be bragging to say that I know now like from Peterborough all the way to Niagara up to Barrie like the back of my hand..with no help from the man