Is This Beautiful: India Confiscates Gold! Wasn't Only About bLACK mONEY??

mapoui · 12-08-2016, 04:16 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2016-12-07...dden-money

Quote:Global financial repression picks up steam, led by India. After declaring large denomination notes illegal, India now targets gold.

It’s not just gold bars or bullion. The government has raided houses, no questions asked, confiscating jewelry.

Quote:The chaos accompanying “demonetization” hasn’t eased up noticeably. It seems likely the disruption to the economy, especially in cash-centric rural India, will hit growth sharply for at least a few quarters. It’s tough to say for how long and by how much; we are in uncharted territory here and guesses have varied widely. But many analysts agree with former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who’s predicting the new policy will knock 2 percentage points off that world-beating GDP growth rate.

Demonetization was originally sold as a “surgical strike on black money” — the illicit piles of cash many rich Indians have accumulated out of sight of the taxman. It’s now clear the policy has been anything but surgical. Worse, uncomfortable questions are being asked about whether the complicated rules and exemptions that have accompanied demonetization have allowed black-money holders to launder most of their cash. Of late, Modi’s chosen to focus instead on demonetization as means of advancing a cashless economy.

Yet the idea of a war on unaccounted-for wealth remains central to demonetization’s popular appeal, which means Modi will have to find other ways to keep that narrative going. So the government has now begun to push income-tax officials to conduct raids on those who might be concealing assets in forms other than cash, such as gold.

There’s already enough fear of such raids becoming common again that the government felt the need to step in to quell some of the anxiety. That didn’t help much. The government “clarified,”  among other things, the rules governing when tax officials could seize gold: Nothing would happen “if the holding is limited to 500 grams per married woman, 250 grams per unmarried woman and 100 grams per male.” It also said that there would be no limits on jewelry “provided it is acquired… from inheritance.” Also, the “officer conducting [the] search has discretion to not seize [an] even higher quantity of gold jewelry.”

What this means, unfortunately, is that India’s income tax officers have just won the lottery. During a raid, they can, on the spot, decide whether or not to confiscate a family’s gold holdings. And remember, India has an enormous amount of gold — 20,000 metric tons, much of it inherited. (The rules governing simple searches are different, but few know that.) Rather than cleaning up tax administration, the government has handed tax officials more power than they’ve had for decades. The rich will pay what they need to escape harassment; the rest will suffer.

Quote:The name "Black Market" is used to create a negative connotation, bolstered by lurid stories of drugs, organs, and children being bought and sold. But in actuality, the black market is any transaction that occurs outside government monitoring and bank profiteering. If you sell your old computer on Craiglist and are paid in cash, leaving no record, technically that is the Black Market.

The goal here is not to curb the drug/organ/human trade but to force everyone into dependence on the banks to handle their commerce for them, with the banks charging ever higher fees in their monopoly, and governments taxing every single transaction.

Read more: www.whatreallyhappened.com http://www.whatreallyhappened.com/#ixzz4SHF4sd4L

China way ahead of India with Development and Infrastructure !

reason is man doan have money and Gold hidden away.

Raid dem !!!  >Sad 

you are a kantakerous aging mf aren't you! Sad Sad Sad Sad

doh get real ole wid dat eh man.  yuh people wun be  able to stan' you.  deh wud have to sen' fuh Mail to tek care of yuh old miserable rarse... and you know wat dat wud mean :o :o :o :o :o :o

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=107409.msg721912#msg721912 date=1481231715]
China way ahead of India with Development and Infrastructure !

reason is man doan have money and Gold hidden away.

Raid dem !!!  >Sad 

the government doan have to take nobody cash and gold to develop infrastructure.  my skunt gold and cash is my own.  I wuk fuh it.  wat the phuck yu telling me I must give up my own gold to the government.  what the phuck they do to deserve my gold that I wuk for.

I teel yuh skunt already DAT ALL THE iNDIAN GOVERNMENT HAVE TO DO IS TO PRINT MONEY AND BUILD INFRASTRUCTURE..PRINT THE INDIAN RUPEE AT NO INTEREST AND SPEND IT INTO THE ECONOMY.

YOU HAVE ASSET FOR EXPENDITURE MAKING A NILE, AT NO INTEREST AND INCREASED NON INFLATIONARY ECONOMIC GROWTH. 

AND YOU CYAN TAX THE PEOPLE ON USE OF THE NEW INFRASTRUCTURE TO MAINTAIN AND ADVANCE IT..OR PLACE OTHER BUSINESS TAX REVENUES FOR THAT PURPOSE.

ASK ANY HALF DECENT ECONOMIST ABOUT THAT AND DEH WILL CORROBORATE IT FUH YOU.  DAT IS THE WAY TO GO... NOT TO ATTACK THE PEOPLE TO FEED THE BANKS.  WHAT THIS IS..IS A MASSIVE ATTACK ON THE INDIAN PEOPLE TO FEED THE INTERNATIONAL BANKERS. 

nARENDA mODI IS IN FULL ATTACK ON THE INDIAN PEOPLE IN THE INTEREST OF FORRINERS.

DONT YOU SEE MAN THAT INCREASED INFRASTRUCTURE AND THE MASSIVE INCREASE IN ECONOMIC ACTIVITY WILL MODERNIZE THE SOCIETY AS A WHOLE AND IN QUICK TIME BRING ALL INDIANS INTO DIGITALIZED ECONOMY AND SO EASILY TAXABLE.

WHY THE HELL CANT YOU SEE THAT..AND SO WHY WONT MODI GO ABOUT IT THAT WAY INSTEAD OF DISRUPTING THE SOCIETY ACROSS THE BOARD AT MASSIVE COST TO THE PEOPLE ::confused:: ::confused::

BECAUSE MODERNIZATION OF THE INDIAN PEOPLE IS NOT WHAT THEY ARE AFTER BUT THE END OF CASH PERIOD..AND THE LOCK DOWN OF ORDINARY PEOPLE THE WORLD OVER.  INDIAN IS MERELY A TEST CASE, A PIONEER PROJECT OF HOW ITS GOING TO HAPPEN FOR/TO ALL OF US.

DONT YOU SEE HOW CASHLESS BENEFITS THE STATUS..HOW IT ANSWERS ALL THEIR PRAYERS AND DESIRES..YOU BLINE, CANTANKEROUS IMPSE >Sad >Sad >Sad >Sad >Sad

As the banks attempt to corral the people into the system in order to steal their last bits of wealth, only an all out alternative will save them. The market will prevail.

dude, the people have corraled the banks !

by stashing cash in their mattresses and is affecting development.