Quote:Appointed to the post after the 2015 World Cup, the Trinidadian's relationship with his employers was problematic from its early stages. Irked by what he termed as "interference from outside" in the selection process prior to last year's visit to Sri Lanka, Simmons angrily aired his feelings. The coach explained that he, then chairman of selectors Clive Lloyd, and captain Jason Holder, were intent on availing the team of the services of Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard for the One-Day International leg of the tour. And despite importunately delivering pleas for the two players, they (himself and Lloyd since Holder doesn't have a vote) were outvoted by the other three selectors, Courtney Walsh, Eldine Baptiste and current chairman, Courtney Browne.Cricbuzz
At a press conference in Barbados on September 25, 2015 Simmons vented: "The disappointing fact is that you can lose 3-2 in a vote-off but there is too much interference from outside in the selection of the ODI squad and it's disappointing for me to know that in any aspect of life ... [people would use] their position to get people into a squad; or in this case, get people left out of a squad. It is wrong and I don't like it and that is my beef with the selection of the ODI team."
On its face, this seems nothing more than the normal selection method at work. Simmons's accusation that some of his colleagues succumbed to arm-twisting from external forces not only reflect poorly on those he claimed did the coercion but also on those who succumbed to it. The other selectors made no public pronouncements at the time but it is tough to imagine them being pleased with the coach's utterances.
There was too much tension in Simmons/WICB relationship
The wicb expects people just to work and shut up.
simmons should have never left Ireland.
Simmons should have just shut to hell up on his Countrymen !
Bravo and Pollard was NOT worth it, IMO
Why would you call for these guys that walk off the job ?
at a cost of 42 million US dollars ??
Bravo and Pollard was NOT worth it, IMO
Why would you call for these guys that walk off the job ?
at a cost of 42 million US dollars ??
[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=106178.msg712904#msg712904 date=1473945161]
Well, Simmo chose the wrong countrymen to battle for !
Personas non grata aka walk off the jobbersย
ย
Well, Simmo chose the wrong countrymen to battle for !
Personas non grata aka walk off the jobbersย
ย
man hush yuh mout'. again! you still with dat nonsense. yuh ded wrong. give it up
Facts are Facts
he pick the wrong fellahs to battle for !
hopefully he has learned the politics of organissations.
he pick the wrong fellahs to battle for !
hopefully he has learned the politics of organissations.
no one else thinks even remotely like you do on this one. you lorse..!
Any Guyanese whom dont feel that SHIV
was sabotaged by the Trini bwoys Brabits and Polly
to protect Lara TEST record.
IS living in an insane world.ย
was sabotaged by the Trini bwoys Brabits and Polly
to protect Lara TEST record.
IS living in an insane world.ย
conspiracy?