[quote author=dillinger10 link=topic=105643.msg707958#msg707958 date=1470420350]
I thought Sammy was a very good on field captain.
I liken him to a modern day Mike Brearley.
Brearley did well in Test cricket ?
Lets look at Sammy's TEST Captaincy performance during his 3 Year contact
[quote author=mapoui link=topic=105643.msg708084#msg708084 date=1470503621]
ridiculous! Sammy is the best T20 captain we have and until he ages out,
thats a ridiculous statement since T20 is relatively new!
[quote author=ketchim link=topic=105643.msg708255#msg708255 date=1470608049]
thats a ridiculous statement since T20 is relatively new!
Whats his success with ODI and Tests ??
wat does relatively new have to do with anything ::confused::
at this point in time my claim is valid. Sammy has turned out to be a fine west indian aftah a very questionable start lookin' the lackey right out of Julian Huntes' stable.
Sammy is no longer anything like that, a development all west indians who payin' attention recognize. dat is why his unceremonious drop is causing a stir.
west indians now like and appreciate Darren Sammy. his personality stands out. he is a most respectable leader out in front of his team..respected in the cricket world.
[quote author=Mail link=topic=105643.msg708174#msg708174 date=1470574386]
Sammy was an opportunist traitor who was in a team sans merit.
As a person he seemes genuine enough but he should never have accepted the test captaincy.
Shiv was also a scab like Sammy.
I am surprised he was allowed to carry on for so long in T20s as he has been a spent force.
I would recognise he presided over 2 World T20 titles and I would not be surprised if it is also the end of his IPL career.
wat is all ah dat Mail ::confused:: ::confused::
wat yuh beating up on Shive and Sammy for ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
it is not easy in the world you know. and everybody have at some point to make a compromise with old marse in order to live...you know..to get a job/to keep a job.. so you can make a livin'
we can blast Shive for his sell out/we can blast Sammy..and others too. but at the end of the day those 2 did enough of socially accepted quality to be appreciated by the west indian people... regardless of the not so nice parts of their careers.
these are ordinary west indian boys who had nutten and by hard work and luck deh came to be what they are. I tink the west indian people focused on the whole of the two men not the parts. deh long forgiven fuh the bad parts
Me personally have nutten but respect and appreciation for both Shive and Sammy regardless.
It is fact Shiv and Sammy are scabs not me fabricating a situation.
At least Shiv merited his position but Sammy absolutely not and I have no time for him as a Cricketer.
Check out his numbers as they make quite bad reading!
Yes, as I said above, Sammy presided over two World T20 victories but what did he really contribute in a team of professional T20 players who really did not require captaining.