[quote author=Goog Lee, P.I. link=topic=104846.msg699119#msg699119 date=1466779834]
Anyone not picking Sobers and Kanhai in a WI t20 team does not know history!
[quote author=Goog Lee, P.I. link=topic=104846.msg699119#msg699119 date=1466779834]
correct is rite!
Greenidge/Freddo combo has a better record than G/H!! They just did not have the longivity!
Anyone not picking Sobers and Kanhai in a WI t20 team does not know history!
Kanhai was to test cricket what ABD is to T20 (Today)! Innovative and destructive!
Well Freddo was coming to the end of his career and Greenidge was becoming established.
Of course he did not play many ODIs but I am positive had he been given the chance he would have been devastating. I applied the same principle to King and Ramadhin.
However if the criteria is having played a certain number of ODIs then some greats would be omitted.
Another would be Constantine as all accounts suggested he was an incredible allrounder and scintillating in the field and he also bowled.
His exploits at Nelson in the Lancashire League is legendary.
Quote:Ramdin can really bat from what I have seen of him..good technique, defense, can score with proper shots around the wicket. but he has never lived up to his batting ability.
When playing for Trinidad, or even in International T20 competitions where he captained Trinidad, Ramdin was/is awesome as a batsman.
This just, somehow, never translated to international WI games.
[quote author=mapoui link=topic=104846.msg698976#msg698976 date=1466702013]
so weh Dillinger..statistics cricket gunslinger :-[ :-[ :-[
Sorry, Maps. I only just saw this now, mate. After giving this some careful consideration and going back and forth on a number of players, my XI would be:
I like Mail's suggestion for giving the gloves to Kanhai.
That is a stacked batting lineup. Can't even find room for Lloyd, Sarwan, Gayle or Kallicharran.
The bowling choices are just as difficult. Roberts, Croft and Julien were tough omissions. Wayne Daniel also on the periphery. One other name not mentioned, largely because he didn't play enough games, is Tony Gray. His performances in limited ODI and List A appearances were very impressive.
Finally, one from the modern era. From a pure numbers standpoint, DJ Bravo is at least worthy of consideration. Yes, the game has changed over the last 10 years, but 199 wickets at a strike-rate of 32.7 with six 4 wicket hauls are still hard to overlook.
[quote author=dillinger10 link=topic=104846.msg699448#msg699448 date=1466876661]
That is a stacked batting lineup. Can't even find room for Lloyd, Sarwan, Gayle or Kallicharran.