Wow. Since their Bangladesh tour, South Africa have looked like someone put a curse on them.
Broad has the coolest run-up in cricket right now. He looks like Michael Holding, all relaxed and silky. I think this is the third time, like a one man wrecking ball, that he's rampaged through a quality team.
Even Stokes is getting massive swing. This England team, with Finn fit, has a quality bowling attack. Now it needs to fix its number 2 and 3 problem. If Hales and Compton don't click, maybe bring back Gary Ballance.
Games like this remind you how crappy most cricket matches are. It's when the bowlers have something to work with, and when there's good swing, that things get exciting.
And in tough conditions like this, the good performances (Root here, Stokes in the last game) with the bat seem much sweeter.
[quote author=TRINIDADDY link=topic=102170.msg674021#msg674021 date=1452951454]
Even Stokes is getting massive swing. This England team, with Finn fit, has a quality bowling attack. Now it needs to fix its number 2 and 3 problem. If Hales and Compton don't click, maybe bring back Gary Ballance.
you like to solve people problems fuh dem eh! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
[quote author=TRINIDADDY link=topic=102170.msg674022#msg674022 date=1452952035]
Another wicket for Broad.
Games like this remind you how crappy most cricket matches are. It's when the bowlers have something to work with, and when there's good swing, that things get exciting.
And in tough conditions like this, the good performances (Root here, Stokes in the last game) with the bat seem much sweeter.
my attitude to the game sucks at the moment. not even that excites. is more the comes' I lookin' for now. ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Just magnificent from Broad - eerily reminiscent to his 8 for 15 at Trent Bridge. He had a dodgy tummy in the first innings and will be the first to admit he struggled with his length, but boy did he ever correct that in the second innings. He was a buzz saw.
England have won the series with Jimmy Anderson taking just 3 wickets. As Trini mentioned upthread, there is depth in this England bowling lineup.