Quote:The impression I get is that Lloyd is always thinking and trying. There's seemingly concern and thought behind the decisions he makes. The only wholly illogical things Lloyd has done so far is to select Dwayne Smith for the World Cup and drop Dwayne Bravo. Everything else he's done has had some kind of logic (even the Bravo dropping can be defended; Lloyd replaced him with Andre Russell, a comparable bowler/cowlasher).
that is hard to deal with TD.
Lloyd may be a thinking man but quality becomes the question. I don't see Lloyd as a smart person..the opposite really.
look at that ridiculous run he made at the wicb chairmanship. then look at how he handled that Guyana gig in the comess deh had there..before he messed up running for the wicb.
Googly has a point in the comparison between Gibbs and the bowling record and Shive/Lara aggregate currently. Gibbs is Lloyd's blood relative...and he played and played and played.
Kalli was not recalled and that was unconscionable...his drop was so, in the first place.
dropping Brabits was a political something which proved that Lloyd is amenable to direction by his superiors in crap. he actually defended that drop when in his day he too was involved in similar but was brought back as captain at the end of it. he was not so kind to Brabits. he was totally uninfluenced by the principles involved in his own experience...
basically what I see Clive LLoyd as, is an unprincipled MF who does not act like he talks..who is out for LLoyd and Lloyd alone. he may or may not be racist..I don't know and I don't care, because either or it makes no difference relative to consequences of his actions
mostly his actions/decisions suck..the product of short-sighted, narrow spectrum thought. his speeches around the world are full of right wing conservative bullsh!t, unbecoming an ordinary west indian black man, but fits an uppity, seeking, ambitions man who is looking for high honors. the speeches Lloyd now make are opposite for example to the document he released around the time he retired, about west indies cricket and his recommendations for its development. that was a progressive piece. nothing he now says is progressive
the dropping of Shive if thought out was jackass, and demonstrative of narrow spectrum defective thought. there is no one to replace Shive, even in decline. and shive did not fail in all those innings they accused him of. he still stuck around, stopped the bleeding for a while. the mere presence of Shive in the team helps to hold the batting together. were shive in this side it would not have collapsed for 148.
to have sent out such a batting side in a test match is contrary to all LLoyd's experience..contrary to mine..that is why I said 187 for us and a loss by the first session of the fourth day. if Lloyd was thinking straight and wanted change, it would have been better to drop Samules and keep shive, because of Shives powerful psychological value to the team. Samules has no such effect on team morale.
it was/is counterproductive to include only such youth on any team. the youth must always be guided through by a senior or 2. to select such a team is counter to any intelligence I know Trinnidaddy..counter to any successful selection practice and tradition I know.
to say Lloyd is thoughtful leads to me to ask for fuller explanation as to what you really mean man..all you have seen about that man that I have not. you may indeed have insight that I don't. I would like to know