Dilly Come in! McWatt, Binns, Depeiza, Walcott, Nunes

mapoui · 06-02-2015, 03:55 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

Kanhai, Dewhurst, Ivan Barrow, Errol Hunte, Cyrial Christiani, Simpson Guillen, Thelston Payne,  D Sealy....

do you know these tests Dillinger..and what deh have in common ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

dillinger has surely moved in to  top ten PITCH poster here.

Whappen to poster Mail : and his whinging for Cricket  discussions...

Mapster , they are also Glovemen , at least started out as.... Wink

quick one there ketchim.  there are some obscure names in there. I thought a few might have thrown you  Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin

like Karl Nunes!  you knew dat guy? 

James referred t him as the closest thing we had in the west indies to a real aristocracy...english-like

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=97896.msg639616#msg639616 date=1433271609]
dillinger has surely moved in to  top ten PITCH poster here.

dilly is a great cricket poster

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=97896.msg639620#msg639620 date=1433272524]
like Karl Nunes!  you knew dat guy? 
de chap dead since 1958 ....me nah baarn yet  ::LOL::

Timur (Edwin Mohamed son) was that year methink !

http://www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/c...52635.html

Karl Nunes, West Indies' first Test captain, enjoyed a distinguished career in cricket as a batsman and an administrator

until his death in London at the age of 64.

Born in Kingston, Jamaica, in 1894, Nunes learnt his cricket at Dulwich College in South London,

well I was born a liltte before dat but I still know Nunes.  he was the fus' west indian captain to england.

strange how dem fellas an dem dead fuh little...64 years his one, 68 Goddard...Challenor 58 or so..

interesting!

Great stuff, Maps. I love learning about the history of the game. I was not familiar with either Barrow or Christiani but I see they both kept wicket and opened the batting - a rare combination in any era of cricket.

One of the Christiani is my sis in law Grandfather  Wink

Sammy Guillen has an interesting story too. He played 5 Tests for West Indies and then just up and left for New Zealand where he waited out 3 years before representing the black caps in 3 Tests. Do you know the reason why he switched allegiances?