6 Baltimore officers face murder, other charges in Gray's death

krishna · 05-01-2015, 12:42 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

BALTIMORE - Six Baltimore police officers will face criminal charges, including second-degree murder and manslaughter, in the death of a black man who was arrested and suffered fatal injuries while riding in a moving police van, the city's chief prosecutor said on Friday.

Marilyn Mosby, the state's attorney for Baltimore City, said Gray, who died a week after his April 12 arrest, suffered a critical neck injury as a result of being handcuffed inside the van. She said officers failed to provide medical attention to Gray even though he asked for it on at least two occasions.

Warrants have been issued for the arrest of the officers charged in the case, she said. In addition to murder and manslaughter, charges include assault, misconduct and false imprisonment.

In a dramatic news conference, Mosby said the Maryland chief medical examiner ruled Gray's death a homicide and that his spinal injuries occurred while he was riding without restraints in the van.

I tip my hat to Ms Mosby.  This woman AG    got balls . Freddie Gray committed no crime and was killed. This is what happen when you lit fires on buildings and under their asses.. Justice

tip your hat

she had no choice she was put in spot and forced to do it

she is the fall lady

for whatever it is worth Baltimore is a majority black city..Police chief, policemen, mayor, city bureaucracy...all are dominated by black americans.......

it is black cops who killed dat man. dat is a way deh torture people..by handcuffing them in the back of a truck... and drive the truck at terrific speeds knocking them around in the van.

prisoners almost always die after such an experience.

but the key is dat I will not hide black malfeasance, evil, wickedness and all around nastiness..even to their own..especially to their own.

we nig nogs think we are better than white people..and all the other people in the world..more humane, kind, peaceful and so on.  we are most definitely. we are terrible when we have power..meek when we dont.

the best way to change is to know and accept who we are and what to change then.  look at what they did to this man...innocent or not!

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/02/us/fre....html?_r=0

Quote:BALTIMORE — Baltimore’s chief prosecutor charged six police officers on Friday with crimes including murder and manslaughter in the arrest and fatal injury of Freddie Gray, a striking and surprisingly swift turn in a case that has drawn national attention to police conduct.

The state’s attorney for Baltimore, Marilyn J. Mosby, filed the charges almost as soon as she received a medical examiner’s report Friday that ruled Mr. Gray’s death a homicide, and a day after the police concluded their initial investigation and handed her their findings. Officials had cautioned that it could take considerable time for her office to complete its own investigation and decide whether to prosecute.
Continue reading the main story
Related Coverage

Marilyn J. Mosby, who took office just four months ago, is the youngest prosecutor in any major American city.
    Marilyn Mosby, Prosecutor in Freddie Gray Case, Seen as Tough on Police MisconductMAY 1, 2015
    Demonstrators marched in Baltimore on Thursday in protest of the death of Freddie Gray.
    Police Killings Rise Slightly, Though Increased Focus May Suggest OtherwiseAPRIL 30, 2015
    Police officers erecting a barricade in Baltimore on Tuesday. Even before protests about the death of Freddie Gray, complaints were made about a state law that gives special legal protections to officers suspected of abusing their power.
    Complaints in Baltimore About Law Offering Protections for OfficersAPRIL 30, 2015
    A police transport van in Baltimore. Such vans have benches along the sides but no seats, and a partition that separates prisoners from the officers.
    Freddie Gray’s Injury and the Police ‘Rough Ride’APRIL 30, 2015

In a city rocked by unrest this week, and now under curfew and patrolled by National Guard troops, Ms. Mosby’s announcement on the steps of the War Memorial downtown drew cheers from the assembled crowd, while a cordon of officers in riot gear looked on stonily. The death of Mr. Gray brought to a boil long-simmering tensions between the police and poor communities in this majority-black city, culminating in rioting Monday in which cars and buildings were set on fire, stores were looted, more than 200 people were arrested and dozens of officers were injured.