Roy Fredericks: Slayer Of Fast Bowlers

zacaroni · 12-25-2014, 11:59 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

Was Fredericks the best hooker to come from the WI? Or was it Kalli? Viv?

Quote:Yet it was Fredericks that really stole the show with his flashy 69. I vividly remember the exquisite square driving and ferocious hooking. He paid special attention to left-arm pacer Gary Gilmour, regularly dismissing his offerings to the boundary boards at backward point. When the crowd in what was then the Eastern Stands shouted a rhyme to the bowler that he was "gonna get a lot more," the bowler responded by cheekily showing them the middle finger. It was there that I learnt what the gesture meant.

This was not the first time Fredericks had enraptured the Sabina Park audience. In 1972 Uton Dowe was a young, fast, aggressive Jamaican pacer who had already played for the West Indies. Guyana was responding to Jamaica's mammoth 467/7 declared in the second round of regional Shell Shield matches when he crashed into the diminutive opener's murderous blade. Opening the bowling, Dowe's first-ball bouncer forced Fredericks into evasive action, during which the ball cannoned onto the handle of his bat and flew over fine leg for six. The next five were sent to the boundary or flew over it at the batsman's direction. The sequence was 6,4,4,4,6,4, and the crowd was delirious. It didn't matter that it was the hometown bowler who was being so mistreated.
Roy Fredericks: Slayer Of Fast Bowlers

Kanhai, Sobers, Richards - they were all good hookers.

Guyanese batsmen are good for West Indies Cricket  8)

Leh we hope he mek it out de turties:

[Image: Leon-Johnson-cap.jpg]

Leon was the highest run getter in the 1st Test with an aggregate of  70

I just hope Deo reach to give us some respectability  8)

Shivnarine Chanderpaul still in training : Port Elizabeth !

[Image: 201583.5.jpg]

Unless Deo stink up de place like he did in New Zealand!!

"Unless"  you are a jackass of epic proportions  Tongue

like you are on odda threads

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=94698.msg607356#msg607356 date=1419539881]
"Unless"  you are a jackass of epic proportions  Tongue

like you are on odda threads

I like you bro. He stink up de place in NZ so KYS

In terms of Windian cricket here is how he ranks, for me as batsman, and not a difinite list just illustrative....for that era and a bit after

Charlie Davis.......
Stolly
Lord Rohan
Butcher
Rowe
Kalli
FREDO...... DIMUNITIVE but packed a punch without big bats....

Freddo was an Opening bats :methink the Babu may have opened and kept wicket for a bit !

Freddo was rewarded with Guyana's Minister of Sports  [img alt=8)]http://www.westindiesforum.com/Smileys/forum/cool-very.png[/img]

Rest In Peace.