Quote:[size=12pt]England captain Alastair Cook says he has no intention of resigning after his team's series defeat by Sri Lanka.
Having lost 5-0 in Australia in the winter, defeat by Sri Lanka off the penultimate ball of the second Test at Headingley was their sixth in seven matches.
Cook, 29, has scored only 92 runs in his last six Test innings but said: "I never quit on anything.
"It's a huge honour to captain England and I'm in it for the long haul."
Cook, who replaced Andrew Strauss as Test captain in August 2012, added: "I believe I'm the right man for the job.
"If someone else decides that not the case, then so be it, but I've got to give all blood, sweat and tears into the England captaincy."
England resumed at 57-5 on the final day and Moeen Ali's 108 from 281 balls took them agonisingly close to salvaging a draw, with last man James Anderson dismissed from the penultimate delivery.
After defeat in his first Test series since being reappointed coach in April, Peter Moores said: "Alastair has felt out of form but as a man he fronted up and he got everyone going this morning saying 'come on we've got a chance, let's believe this.'
"It has been a really tough seven or eight months. None of us take it lightly and he is going to work extremely hard to put it right."
England's new-look batting line-up produced four centuries in the two-match series, from Gary Ballance and Joe Root at Lord's and Moeen and Sam Robson at Headingley.
"We have had some young batters do extremely well and we have seen Moeen play one of the best Test innings you'll see under pressure," Moores said.
"If we can get the captain playing well that is going to start looking like a really strong batting unit." [/size]
Cook not resigning
He has lost 6 out of the last 8 tests and it is just a small stumble.In my opinion he deserves the longer end of the rope.If one can remember MSD lost 8 tests in a row but the BCCI reposed faith in him and he has probably got his zing back.It is only a matter of time before he rediscovers his touch and tactics.
I think the issue with Cooky is he is not learning. Tactically he seems all at sea, inept and really struggling. His form has suffered but he did lead when we won in India which was the first time in many years.
I say review it after we have played India as his failure at the top is also affecting the team.
[quote author=Mail link=topic=90722.msg571586#msg571586 date=1403700327]
I say review it now .... Cooky has had a fair run ........ :-[
I say Skook is not a good captain.
I was sooprised when england won in Insia but Indian cricketers/cricket team are weirdos. they are unpredictable losing when not expcetd to..winning and loosing sooprisingly
but I am biased. I had come to like Pietersen and Scookie treated him terribly. its time karma returned the favour
I was sooprised when england won in Insia but Indian cricketers/cricket team are weirdos. they are unpredictable losing when not expcetd to..winning and loosing sooprisingly
but I am biased. I had come to like Pietersen and Scookie treated him terribly. its time karma returned the favour
Cook has been lucky..but what doh meet you ent pass you.
he sailed as a cricketer up until he became cappo. but he was bound to meet challenge in his career.
now its upon him he is not handling it attractively
he sailed as a cricketer up until he became cappo. but he was bound to meet challenge in his career.
now its upon him he is not handling it attractively