Lara’s top-five batsmen

krishna · 11-11-2013, 10:19 AM · 1 person reading this discussion

lol kwami ::love::

you laughing at me or with me?

[quote author=socafighter link=topic=85027.msg530995#msg530995 date=1384189205]
Rev The above are facts ..Can one imagine if Kanhai or VIV had such options what his stats would be . ;D ;D ;D

* Bradman played in a different era---1928 to 1948

* he was the best in his era

BOTTOM LINE

It is fundamentally erroneous and flawed to compare batsmen from different eras.

But then again it is human nature to engage in comparing and contrasting and blaming and criticizing.

..  but what constitutes a great batsman .I would say that it is not statistics alone.
I would suggest things like style . class.  entertainment values magnificence of cricket shots etc .
These quality people like Kanhai possessed  and it makes them great batsmen.
In spite  ofstatistics, I don't consider people like Kallis great batsmen

[quote author=Kwami link=topic=85027.msg531013#msg531013 date=1384190120]
..  but what constitutes a great batsman .I would say that it is not statistics alone.
I would suggest things like style . class.  entertainment values magnificence of cricket shots etc .
These quality people like Kanhai possessed  and it makes them great batsmen.
In spite  ofstatistics, I don't consider people like Kallis great batsmen

What constitutes a great batsman is what you think in your mind---never give a rat's a$$ about what other people think---it's what you think---for example, the Rev thinks Rohan Kanhai is a great batsmen even though he averaged below 50---the Rev also thinks Shiv Chanderpaul is a very good batsman with great numbers----ditto Rahul Dravid---he is a very good batsman with great numbers----Bottom line---if you think Ron(not George) Headley is a great---don't let anybody tell you otherwise----never care what other people think---it's what you think that matters.

Meant george

I would be forever grateful to the Batsman at the other end that stays with me :

To break the highest TEST runs record.

AND I would let the WORLD know that !

But that is my opinion....

[quote author=socafighter link=topic=85027.msg531018#msg531018 date=1384190397]

So you are presenting prejudicial Opinionated evidence to back up your elusive facts ...huh ...

That's how it goes. Like it or lump it. That's the way it is. ;D

[quote author=Rev link=topic=85027.msg531030#msg531030 date=1384191202]

Like it or lump it.

hahahahaha....you just took me back to high school parlance in GT  Wink

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=85027.msg531031#msg531031 date=1384191277]
hahahahaha....you just took me back to high school parlance in GT  Wink

There were some good proverbs back in Guyana.  ;D

This one applies to West Indies cricketers:

[color=red][size=14pt]"Yuh can't drink mauby and belch beer"----meaning if you put little effort in your cricket you can expect little success.[/size]