The cholesterol argument must Include your RATIO :

Mapoui .....expressed as LDL / HDL .

check the copy of your last Blood work  Wink

ignore the Uneducated and dated comments expressed by your countryooman  :-[

ketchup is mih bwoy soca.  me an' he fite all the time

the vessel the blood flows in ketchim..dat must be in order.  if dat not in shape den look out  :Smile :Smile

High-density lipoprotein, or HDL, is the good cholesterol.

Low-density lipoprotein, or LDL, is the bad cholesterol.

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=84948.msg530352#msg530352 date=1383930151]

the vessel the blood flows in ketchim..dat must be in order.  if dat not in shape den look out  :Smile :Smile

This trickie Newbie is a runaway truck  Tongue

An acceptable level of HDL cholesterol is at least 40mg/dL.

Optimal HDL levels are higher than 60.

An optimal level of LDL cholesterol is under 100 mg/dL.

To find your cholesterol ratio, you divide your total cholesterol number by your HDL

For example :

If your total cholesterol number is 200 and your good cholesterol is 50 :

your total cholesterol ratio is 4:1.

Is There an Ideal Cholesterol Ratio ?

According to the American Heart Association  you should keep your cholesterol ratio at or below:

5:1.

The ideal cholesterol ratio is about 3.5 : 1  :-*