Today's lunch...

villagebelle · 10-19-2010, 01:50 PM · 2 people reading this discussion

I love bitter melon and sla'fish.  bitter melon stir-fried with beef, chicken breast or both Tongue Tongue Tongue

I love biter melon in all ways.  terrific food Tongue Tongue Tongue

Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin

I does boil that salt fish till you can't taste any salt

then cook in small amount of olive oil until it is slightly brown

then add to almost cooked karaila

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=102199.msg674291#msg674291 date=1453139559]
I love bitter melon and sla'fish.  bitter melon stir-fried with beef, chicken breast or both Tongue Tongue Tongue

I love biter melon in all ways.  terrific food Tongue Tongue Tongue

Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin

we do too !!

I does even slip it up and put in pepper sauce.....once it is 'pickled'....it is to die for.

I saw this Gyall "squeeze" out the chopped  Karila twice in warm water..

B4 cooking !

Quote:Bitter good for blood ....salt will UP blood pressure

too much salt does.  salt to tas'e doh trouble me Big Grin Big Grin

SO if yuh boil out de Salt from Salt Fish

and "squeeze" our de Bitter from de Melon :

wuh yuh end up widd ??    :-\

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=102199.msg674285#msg674285 date=1453139110]
cooking sardines is trouble.
don't heat up olive oil on a fire. 
I know , but its all Mind over Matter ! :-[

[quote author=mapoui link=topic=102199.msg674285#msg674285 date=1453139110]
cooking sardines is trouble.  you go kill it..stick to pan an' ting.  the only way I see heat on sardines is to heat up coconut oil to smoking, then pour it on the sardines

don't heat up olive oil on a fire.  that will kill the oil and turn it into harmful for your belly :Smile :Smile :Smile

no man.....cooking up the sardine is the best.

wid plenty onion and garlic

lil oil
fry the onion
then add the garlic
some tamotoes
let all simmer for a couple of minutes
then add the sardine
simmer another couple of minutes

put on bread
or eat with roti
or wid dhall and rice

again....Guyanese style

I never see sardines raw and uncooked in a tin.

I know they flash-cook them and seal them up.  every time I put them in a hot pan they stick.  so to protect against anything in the tin we used to heat up oil and pour it over the sardines to avoid the pan process.

but since I came to Canada that was too much for me.  I used to eat with crackers and toast. or make submarines with lettuce and tomatoes on delicious foot long white bread...after making  a paste with hot peppers or pepper sauce.

I understand now how you can cook it if you let it simmer under low heat with enuff liquid.  but sardines are soft, real soft and does not need heat..cant take too much heat.

anyway the way I absolutely love it is like I have listed

if I remember accurately my mother used to do it like that...but with tomatoes too.  she used to cook all of the ingredients down add the sardines to simmer on low heat..or just take the pot off the heat and leave it covered

Quote:no man.....cooking up the sardine is the best.

wid plenty onion and garlic

lil oil
fry the onion
then add the garlic
some tamotoes
let all simmer for a couple of minutes
then add the sardine
simmer another couple of minutes

Quote:plus I cooked a big pot of chicken soup....wid sweet potato, green plantain, celery, some carrots and barley.....wid plenty of onion, garlic and ginger!!

I love chicken soup!  but my chicken soup is full of celery, noodles, english potatoes and dumplings. onions, garlic and a bit of tomato