If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - Printable Version

+-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. (/thread-28575.html)

If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - ketchim - 12-22-2015

"It's important that whenever we go to bat we spend some time out in the middle.

If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs.

Naturally we play aggressive cricket where batting is concerned.

It's just a matter of us spending time out in the middle and putting up a very good fight.

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - ketchim - 12-22-2015

The squad FINALLY awoke from a Slumber !

Nice of LiL Bravo to remember The shivster mantra

http://www.espncricinfo.com/australia-v-west-indies-2015-16/content/story/953965.html

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - TRINIDADDY - 12-22-2015

Quote:Naturally we play aggressive cricket where batting is concerned.

It is a myth that WI "naturally" play aggressive cricket. Darren Bravo has about 2 scoring shots. Marlon Samuels has a strike rate in the 40s. Likewise Ramdin.

What WI batsmen "naturally" do is block, block, fail to take singles, fail to take easy runs, fail to work the ball, leave the ball, leave the ball, block, block and occasionally go for the unncessary big shot before getting out.

The last genuinely aggressive WI test batsman was Lara, who is also the only batsman in the 10,000 run club with a strike rate in the 60s.

WI batsmen would do well to be more positive and aggressive. Touch the ball, work it around and force the opposition to move the field around.

I'm sure if you examine the wagon wheels of most WI batsmen, Paint and Holder have the most impressive array of shots.

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - ketchim - 12-22-2015

Methink he was referring to the aggressive Jermaine Blackwood :

whose style contributed a double duck  :-[

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - pwarbi - 12-22-2015

While it's a nice idea, ist it just that? An idea? A batsman can bat defensive for 2 days and hardly score anything so the amount of time in the middle certainly doesn't guarantee runs.

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - timmyj51 - 12-22-2015

yuh, muhn...maybe can make 36 in 60!  ::dead::

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - ketchim - 12-28-2015

Bravo 51* off  160 deliveries ....SR 32.3    8)

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - The Professor - 12-28-2015

I no longer feel disappointed by West Indies poor performance. I reached a stage where I don't care because it seems like they the players don't care so why should I? Keep losing West Indies ... don't care.

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - boquiesse - 12-28-2015

[quote author=The Professor link=topic=101896.msg671529#msg671529 date=1451317276]
it seems like they the players don't care

I think the majority of the players care.

They are just not good enough to play at this level.

Re: If we spend time we're definitely going to score runs. - ketchim - 12-28-2015

What a great Inning by Darren Bravo !

Shiv's legacy lives on  :-*