How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html) +--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html) +--- Thread: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? (/thread-20676.html) Pages:
How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - zacaroni - 09-27-2014 Is it really possible for WI cricket to get back to the top? Or are we where we should reasonably expect to be given population size, resources etc? Quote:Come to think of it, it is remarkable that a region of just over seven million people could, for almost two decades, dominate a sport conTested by countries with markedly larger populations. To understand this, one has to appreciate how much a part of the fabric of the society cricket was. West Indies Cricket: How Will It Find Its Way Back? Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - ketchim - 09-27-2014 [quote author=Rev link=topic=92988.msg590824#msg590824 date=1411833657] HERE IS REALITY : * To win consistently the [size=10pt]WI needs 2 bowler who average less than 30 with the ball and 5 batsmen who average 40+ with the bat.[/size] [/quote] This should be the Starting Line
Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - ketchim - 09-27-2014 Forget about Glory days, Population size , what Lara said et cetera: You DONT have the Talent ?? : as we say in Guyana "yuh cork duck "
Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - zacaroni - 09-27-2014 So WI don't have the talent? We used to have too much talent. So why the downturn? Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - ketchim - 09-27-2014 UWI Sociology department of Studies may have a better explanation. From what I am hearing Cricket is NO longer Da game cause everyone back in the 70s and early 80s HAD those stats as bowlers and batsmen. Another reason may be our training ground : England Counties are no longer ! Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - zacaroni - 09-27-2014 Well that's one reason I kinda gave, that cricket was no longer the main activity for young boys. Not even close. Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - ketchim - 09-27-2014 Even IF Cricket returns to the # 1 spot in the Caribbean even If we bring in a Franchised based system between Islands; Playing against ourselves is ZERO gain. England County shut us out : and we never got a replacement ! Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - ketchim - 09-27-2014 For example the Board never pursued Ranji cup in India, Sheffield in Oz , whatever South Africa regional league is, et cetera. No idea why ! Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - zacaroni - 09-27-2014 There are some people Ketchim, Derrick Murray I think is one that disagrees with the notion that WI cricket benefitted greatly from county cricket. Re: How can West Indies Cricket Return To Glory Days? - Rowe992 - 09-27-2014 Well the West Indies needs to go back to its test roots and focus on creating good test teams. The region has a lot of players in the short form of the game but I think they need to play more test cricket to develop proper cricketing technique. |