Pietersen flops on first big day of summer - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html) +--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html) +--- Thread: Pietersen flops on first big day of summer (/thread-19923.html) |
Pietersen flops on first big day of summer - chairman - 08-23-2014 On his first big day of the summer, Kevin Pietersen's failure was greeted with glee by the fans who once cherished him Re: Pietersen flops on first big day of summer - dillinger10 - 08-23-2014 Surrey were in complete control against Birmingham but once Pietersen was out, Surrey capitulated. Hampshire didn't fare much better against Lancashire in their semi-final though sadly Freddie Flintoff was denied a dream return to T20 cricket as Birmingham won out by 4 runs in the final of the T20 Blast. Re: Pietersen flops on first big day of summer - Kyle - 08-23-2014 You couldn't link to the original piece? :o http://www.espncricinfo.com/page2/content/story/773541.html I was wondering what this was without any context. At least quote more than a line please? But yeah, meh. Everyone's had a love-hate relationship with KP regardless. So totally unsurpising why this happened when he's at his lowest point. Re: Pietersen flops on first big day of summer - dillinger10 - 08-24-2014 I was, and still am, an unabashed KP fan. It is a shame that he has struggled throughout the year playing for the Delhi Daredevils, Surrey and St. Lucia Zouks. It would be great to see Pietersen return to playing four-day cricket again next season as even he himself admitted just playing T20's didn't work for him. "One thing I haven’t done this year is I probably should have played a little bit more cricket than I have. If you really want to perform in T20 cricket and you are only playing one day a week, I do think you need to have your eye in. You need to be playing regularly. “I found that out this year that just [playing] Friday night games doesn’t work, and it is good that I found it out because I am only 34 and I am still going to be playing for another four or five years. And I have understood that I need to play a lot more cricket in order to be successful and that is what I am going to do. And if I am playing in England next year I have to play a lot more cricket to be more successful in the shorter form of the Pietersen keen to play more cricket |