Aaaaahhh! Nice Story! Sweet - Printable Version

+-- Forum: Political Opinions, Commentaries on Current Issues (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-3.html)
+--- Thread: Aaaaahhh! Nice Story! Sweet (/thread-11946.html)

Aaaaahhh! Nice Story! Sweet - mapoui - 07-18-2013

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/featured-news/The-fruits-of-his-labour-215930801.html

Quote:The fruits of his labour ...Decades of planting trees
By Heather-Dawn Herrera

Story Created: Jul 17, 2013 at 10:37 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 17, 2013 at 10:37 PM ECT
Few hillside plantations have survived the challenges set by the passage of time. In fact few pioneers of such plantations have lived to find that they can share the fruits of their labour with succeeding generations.
Nawbert Arjun Rampersad is one of the fortunate ones who can experience those moments of pride. Last weekend he invited this writer to revisit his plantation of mixed species located in the western hills of Lopinot. In fact, Rampersad boasts that his is the only plantation that hasn’t gone through the need for replanting exercises.

Re: Aaaaahhh! Nice Story! Sweet - mapoui - 07-18-2013

Quote:“Back in 1987 when the foothills of the Northern Range from St Michael to Lopinot were overrun with guinea grass and corn grass, I began planting to reverse the spate of fires that ravaged these areas annually. My experience as a hillside gardener and woodsman served me in good stead.”
However, it was not until 1998 when this column accompanied Rampersad up to the bare terrain of Hill Top View that he spearheaded the planting of seven acres of mixed species. This plantation has thrived undisturbed throughout the years under Rampersad’s dedicated care.
Looking around the plantation this writer was impressed with the healthy bearing of each tall tree. According to Rampersad, the plantation bears fruits throughout the year.
“I planted the area in such a way that even during the dry season when most areas are under siege from fires, fruits are available for everyone. The animals come from far distances when there is a scarcity of fruits during this period. I planted fruits that bear during the dry season such as sapodilla, plumrose, caimite and gulab jamun. The gulab jamun also acts as a wind breaker in these heights.”
Rampersad tells of hunters coming to the plantation to catch the agouti because it is the only place where there is feed for these animals and they are sure to come. He has planted cassava throughout the plantation to ensure the supply of food for the agouti.

Quote:“I planted the area in such a way that even during the dry season when most areas are under siege from fires, fruits are available for everyone. The animals come from far distances when there is a scarcity of fruits during this period. I planted fruits that bear during the dry season such as sapodilla, plumrose, caimite and gulab jamun. The gulab jamun also acts as a wind breaker in these heights.”
Rampersad tells of hunters coming to the plantation to catch the agouti because it is the only place where there is feed for these animals and they are sure to come. He has planted cassava throughout the plantation to ensure the supply of food for the agouti.
Not only do animals benefit from Rampersad’s plantation but visiting students and others who come from far and near receive generously of the fruits available.
Rampersad has planted rows of mahogany where landslides occurred regularly during rain time. These trees have given sturdy roots to hold the soil and to date there have been no more landslides into the valley.
Other trees planted in 1998 that now complement the plantation include tonca bean, balata, chenette, soursop, sugar apple, noni fruit, penny piece, mami apple, banga palm and citrus. This writer tasted tonca bean mango on the plantation for the first time and just couldn’t get enough of it.
Seeing a twin growth of two different species bearing together, this writer asked Rampersad how that was possible.
“People usually say that you can’t plant two different species close together. Well, I planted this mami apple and this portugal in the same hole and just like you would see in the forest, they grow together and bear their respective fruits successfully.
Using his own resources, Rampersad has patrolled and protected this plantation during dry season and rain. He attributes this to his family history of caring for Mother Earth. 
“The Earth is our Mother, It gives us life and it continues to succour us. I grew up in Surrey Village and used to meet fruit trees everywhere I went on my grandparents’ estate. My father worked on the Rapsey Estate in the Heights of Aripo and it was there that I gained my knowledge. I in turn pass on my knowledge to present generations who will do so for generations of the future.”
Already secondary and tertiary

Re: Aaaaahhh! Nice Story! Sweet - ketchim - 07-18-2013

" I planted fruits that bear during the dry season such as sapodilla, plumrose, caimite and

gulab jamun "

always thought this was a dessert dish ( sweet rollrd into a ping pong size ball with syrup )  Smile

I never had too much of it but ate it jess so..fresh

What does it look like ??

will try to figure out the Guyana equivalent ..

“I planted the area in such a way that even during the dry season when most areas are under siege from fires, fruits are available for everyone. The animals come from far distances when there is a scarcity of fruits during this period. I planted fruits that bear during the dry season such as sapodilla, plumrose, caimite and gulab jamun. The gulab jamun also acts as a wind breaker in these heights.”
Not only do animals benefit from Rampersad’s plantation but visiting students and others who come from far and near receive generously of the fruits available.
Rampersad has planted rows of mahogany where landslides occurred regularly during rain time. These trees have given sturdy roots to hold the soil and to date there have been no more landslides into the valley.
Other trees planted in 1998 that now complement the plantation include tonca bean, balata, chenette, soursop, sugar apple, noni fruit, penny piece, mami apple, banga palm and citrus. This writer tasted tonca bean mango on the plantation for the first time and just couldn’t get enough of it.
Seeing a twin growth of two different species bearing together, this writer asked Rampersad how that was possible.
“People usually say that you can’t plant two different species close together. Well, I planted this mami apple and this portugal in the same hole and just like you would see in the forest, they grow together and bear their respective fruits successfully.
Using his own resources, Rampersad has patrolled and protected this plantation during dry season and rain. He attributes this to his family history of caring for Mother Earth. 
“The Earth is our Mother, It gives us life and it continues to succour us. I grew up in Surrey Village and used to meet fruit trees everywhere I went on my grandparents’ estate. My father worked on the Rapsey Estate in the Heights of Aripo and it was there that I gained my knowledge. I in turn pass on my knowledge to present generations who will do so for generations of the future.”
Already secondary and tertiary

is the same thing dat allyuh have.

I cant post pictures for some reason on this site but here's a link

{link distorts the page}  try this one:

http://healthmeup.com/photogallery-healthy-living/top-20-fruits-for-diabetics/18512/5

Oh !

Gulab jamun is that Jamoon fruit we make Wine with in Guyana...

Meseret will know ...

never knew it was good for diabetes.....

it is.  but I never see Jamoon sold here in Ontario ::confused::