German's beef soup - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: What’s on Your Mind? (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: The Water Cooler! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-4.html) +--- Thread: German's beef soup (/thread-7729.html) |
Re: German's beef soup - mapoui - 11-08-2012 so ketchim..there are no GMO's in Guyana? Re: German's beef soup - mapoui - 11-08-2012 [quote author=Goog Lee link=topic=73611.msg456115#msg456115 date=1352407805] maps, u neva had cassava? u miss 1/4 of your life dey! :tongue: [/quote] bwoy! I have had cassava in all forms. I myself used to make starch from bitter cassava, so I cud make cassava bread once the bitter was extracted. cassava bread and callaloo...butter, stew beef and chicken. now yuh talking. cassava boil, with olive oil or coconut oil and some okro or any kind of bhagi on the side :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: poor people food Re: German's beef soup - mapoui - 11-08-2012 I jess doh know cassareep di'ze all Re: German's beef soup - Googley - 11-08-2012 [quote author=mapoui link=topic=73611.msg456119#msg456119 date=1352408357] bwoy! I have had cassava in all forms. I myself used to make starch from bitter cassava, so I cud make cassava bread once the bitter was extracted. cassava bread and callaloo...butter, stew beef and chicken. now yuh talking. cassava boil, with olive oil or coconut oil and some okro or any kind of bhagi on the side :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: poor people food [/quote] cassava and salt fish! :kiss: Re: German's beef soup - ketchim - 11-08-2012 Cassareep is made from the juice of the bitter Cassava root, which is poisonous it contains large amounts hydrogen cyanide traditionally called "prussic acid" and blamed for many deaths if it is not cooked properly. The acid is volatile and quickly dissipates when heated. Re: German's beef soup - ketchim - 11-08-2012 Amerindians from Guyana reportedly made an antidote by steeping peppers in Rum! Re: German's beef soup - ketchim - 11-08-2012 The juice is then boiled until it is reduced by half in volume to the consistency of molasses and flavored with cloves,cinnamon,salt,sugar and cayenne pepper ! Re: German's beef soup - ketchim - 11-08-2012 Legend has it that there was a 100 year old Dish ......yummmm ::lol:: Re: German's beef soup - Meseret - 11-08-2012 [quote author=mapoui link=topic=73611.msg456112#msg456112 date=1352407619] something wrong with house pig? or is wild pig sweeter? [/quote] Maps, the Amerindians have no use for toilets. They do their business in the bush near the houses. The pigs have a feast ... People take their baby pigs out into the savannahs and loose them there, then go back months after when they are grown, bring them back to the village to sell. Re: German's beef soup - Meseret - 11-08-2012 house pigs are also full of jiggers. |