3rd T20I: South Africa v West Indies at Durban - Printable Version

+-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: 3rd T20I: South Africa v West Indies at Durban (/thread-22367.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

Re: Footage of a "really really sad Gayle". - ketchim - 01-12-2015

I have seen a lot of ads about protea fire.

I guess Cape Town will be blazing tomorrow

but with a maroon flame.[img alt=Right Quote height=20 width=28]http://i.imgci.com/espncricinfo/quote_right1.jpg[/img]

Darren Sammy
has a dig at South African cricket's marketing campaign

Re: All hail Sammy - boquiesse - 01-12-2015

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=94971.msg609955#msg609955 date=1421077378]
So why yuh CRYING and Whinging now : to please poster Mail ??

Get a Life , bro : hahahahahaha  ::LOL::

~~ " dont cry for me , Argentina " ~

You see me crying and whining??

You de in big pussy corner trying for justify on basis of averages or someting like dat.

It reallllllll funny

If big pussy wasn't a fellow mudlander me nah know wha wud happen.

Re: SHIV THANKS WICB For 2015 Retainer Contract - Rev Al - 01-12-2015

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=94957.msg609923#msg609923 date=1421075253]
Good mantra Rev , but I tell my kids do it while under 40 years.

* If you have an adventurous spirit, it doesn't matter if your earth age is 40 or 80 you'll go out there an explore.

* Unfortunately,  Lots of folks are constrained by TIME.

* Anyone can hop on a plane and fly over to Australia, for example, and vacation for a week or so, but not many people can take off for a month or two and really travel and explore a country or region-----like I said---they are constrained by TIME.

* But you have a point Ketchy---most people put off travelling until they are old, and by that time they don't have the health and energy to explore and adventure.

* Good advice to your kids---don't put off seeing the world.

Re: SHIV THANKS WICB For 2015 Retainer Contract - ketchim - 01-12-2015

Just used the random age of 40.

The education associated with meeting and observing different cultures.

Will serve you well in your career 'til retirement.

It like when i see a ferrari convertible and pull up alongside.

Its always either a fully grey haired in his 70s OR a dude looking rale sick.

Toys and travel : should be enjoyed and appreciated in youthful years  ::LOL::

My .02 cents

[quote author=Calypso link=topic=94982.msg609905#msg609905 date=1421067041]
[size=10pt]MINUS ...And what exactly are their stats in ODI to guarantee selection? ... not to mention their commitment to WI cricket to walk out on the India tour ... and hey before all of you jump on this/me  remember Bravo's comment re his commitment to WI cricket? ... I believe it came last on his list.[/size]

Tell it Calypso , do tell !  8)

Re: Footage of a "really really sad Gayle". - Mail - 01-12-2015

[quote author=Calypso link=topic=94982.msg609905#msg609905 date=1421067041]
So I'm a huge Gayle fan ... but not of his statement or the timing of this statement in this event ??
I think Gayle's statement was of a simple nature but the timing was perfect in the context of a historic game and the squad was just announced!

PLUS for Onry ... speaking out against the WICB and you are entitled to your opinion plus you can do so since not on retainer contract.    Good to see you are speaking up for your pals ... shows mateship and non insularity between JAM and T&T, but I do question the honesty of this !!
This issue, for me, is about fairness rather than insularity for once. Gayle also spoke out about Shin and particularly Sarwan's treatment and I have no reason to suggest he he was not being sincere in this most recent occasion.

MINUS ...So you WON the game for Bravo & Pollard to prove a point to WICB/Selectors ???  Really?  You didn't WIN it for West Indies???  :o
The Australians recently played for the sadly departed Hughes but did not say it was not for the people. It may not be a totally comparable situation but the principle! Similarly Gayle said what he said! Personally I find it a bit simple but he expressed himself.

MINUS  ...Hey them two couldn't play their game and disprove the selectors for themselves and win the game??  :o
They could well have and I would say Bravo was the most economical bowler on either side, bar Tahir, taking two wickets and scoring 20 at a SR of 200 so he did contribute. Pollard on the other hand had an ordinary game.

MINUS ...And what exactly are their stats in ODI to guarantee selection? ... not to mention their commitment to WI cricket to walk out on the India tour ... and hey before all of you jump on this/me ... remember Bravo's comment re his commitment to WI cricket? ... I believe it came last on his list.
From many posters here stats are all supreme and we hear continuously the numbers do not lie. My view is stats do not guarantee selection as they need to be taken in context. Bravo was selected in the ICC ODI team for 2014 because of his performance in the last year. From my knowledge, current cricketers numbers are ordinary but you select the best of  a bad bunch!

Clilve Lloyd walked out with the majority of the team in 1977-78 home series against Australia in favour of Packer. In 2014 the players went to India in good faith and without contracts. Would anyone of us work without terms of employment? This is not a one off, it is the norm and it had to change. Do you not think the WICB was trying to bully and deceive?

The task force came up with several Industrial relations recommendations which were not there previously so some good is coming out of the walk out. The task force also addressed methods of communication amongst others which we not in place so whatever individual feeling are the walk out will lead to some positive change.

It was sad to see the team walk out but I fully support their actions and those travelling to SA have had an agreed contract prior to travelling. This would not have happened previously.

I am not wedded to the idea of Bravo or Pollard being in any team but it is clear that their omission is not on cricketing points.

MINUS... and honestly Onry ... if you felt so strongly about this whole situation about your IPL pals ...  hey then at a later and more appropriate press conference time .... just decline selection or just say you not playing in the WC in protest !!!!  :o  Steupps !!! Sad
Why do you think the timing is wrong? Gayle says what he wants and gets away with it. He spoke out for Sarwan and Shiv and now naturally for these two.

I'm so done with this !!!  ::yawn::

Re: SHIV THANKS WICB For 2015 Retainer Contract - Rev Al - 01-12-2015

RE: SHIV'S 2015 RETAINER CONTRACT

* Shiv needs to hurry up and score those 275 runs he needs to become the 12th batsman in history to reach 12,000 test runs.

* The WICB has clearly expressed confidence in the old man, but it's his turn to express confidence in himself.

* Shiv failed in South Africa----we all know that----but his 50 in his final innings of that series showed that he is still a fighter.

* Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo were recently dropped from the WI one day team because of their mediocrity.

* The WICB will not hesitate to hand Shiv his walking papers if he fails again in his next test series versus England in April/May.

Re: SHIV THANKS WICB For 2015 Retainer Contract - anandgb - 01-12-2015

[quote author=ketchim link=topic=94957.msg609923#msg609923 date=1421075253]
Good mantra Rev , but I tell my kids do it while under 40 years.

Too often Folks tend to postpone the education associated with seeing the World~

I quite agree with you. You have to enjoy while you are young enough to do so. Too many people save for teh "golden years" only to become too sickly to do anything

[quote author=Mail link=topic=94982.msg610000#msg610000 date=1421083927]
He spoke out for Sarwan and Shiv and now naturally for these two.
observation : those 2 cannot shine these 2 shoes NOR carry their Jockstrap !

in  ODI cricket .

Shiv is 41.60 , Sarwan 42.50 : we all know Pollard and bravo.  :-[

Onry is a " rebel without a cause "  :-[

3rd T20I: South Africa v West Indies at Durban - boquiesse - 01-12-2015

Quote:[size=12pt]JOHANNESBURG (CMC):Former West Indies one-day skipper Darren Sammy has pledged his full support for new captain Jason Holder as the team prepares for the prestigious ICC Cricket World Cup.

"It's not an easy job. I think everyone knows that. It's probably one of the most difficult jobs, captaining the West Indies. You carry the hopes and aspirations of all the people of the West Indies and millions more who support us all over the world," the 31-year-old St Lucian noted. "But it is a great job, a wonderful opportunity to serve your people and do something very special on the cricket field and make a positive impact on the lives of so many people."

surprising announcement

Holder was a surprising announcement as the new West Indies one-day captain, replacing Dwayne Bravo, who took over from Sammy in May 2013. The 23-year-old has played only three Tests and 21 ODIs.

"Jason is a great young man and a very smart and intelligent cricketer and I know he is ready to take on the role," Sammy said. "He is a student of the game and is always looking to learn and bring new ideas to the group. He's imaginative, creative, and a very good listener and this is very good.

"When his time comes to lead the ODI team, I will make sure I support him and make sure the team rallies around him and gives their full support. Hopefully, he will take the ODI side forward."
[/size]