O BEAUTIFUL GUYANA - Printable Version

+--- Thread: O BEAUTIFUL GUYANA (/thread-13680.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Re: O BEAUTIFUL GUYANA - chairman - 10-29-2013

[quote author=VillageBelle link=topic=84612.msg527876#msg527876 date=1383054328]
why do i remember the 2nd line of O beautiful Guyana as being different....
O beautiful Guyana
O my lovely native land
I remember as...
"our home and native land"

;D ;D  thats canada

hilarious vb. wrang country

Re: O BEAUTIFUL GUYANA - villagebelle - 10-29-2013

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=84612.msg527880#msg527880 date=1383054570]
;D ;D  thats canada

OMG.....you are right!! :-[
being so strongly connected to two countries can sure get confusing  ::LOL::

Re: O BEAUTIFUL GUYANA - villagebelle - 10-29-2013

[quote author=The Chairman link=topic=84612.msg527882#msg527882 date=1383054613]
hilarious vb. wrang country

:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ ::LOL::

october 29th. The east indian slave labor stood up and fought for their rights.

WAY DOWN DEMERARA
R.C.G.Potter

When your ship has passed the islands and the blue sea turns to brown,
And the leadsman calls ‘Five Fathoms’ when he casts the lead-line down,
And you see a long flat coastland and a smokeless wooden town,
You can reckon you are nearing Demerara.
Demerara, Demerara, you can reckon you are nearing Demerara.

When you’re wakened in the morning by a cheerful kiskadee,
And you see a sackiwinki by a mukka mukka tree,
And the very homely features of the slimy manatee,
You can know that you are down in Demerara.
Demerara, Demerara, you can know that you are down in Demerara.

When you spot an alligator who is waiting for a feed,
And observe a salempenta (of the iguana breed),
And you dodge the marabunta (ripe for any evil deed),
You are somewhere, without doubt, in Demerara.
Demerara, Demerara, you are somewhere, without doubt, in Demerara.

When you sail up mighty rivers and you scarcely glimpse a hill,
And you see the great Kaieteur (which perhaps you never will),
When you pay your fare in shillings, through it’s dollars on the bill,
You will boast that you’re at home in Demerara.
Demerara, Demerara, you will boast that you’re at home in Demerara.

meh hear gt becoming filthtown

Re: O BEAUTIFUL GUYANA - Googley - 10-29-2013

[quote author=socafighter link=topic=84612.msg527904#msg527904 date=1383056795]
Ok Muddies , what's with the celebrating of Guyana today.

Is it an occasion noted for celebration , or just an explosion of love today ? Smile

Chairman misses he god fadda Burnham!  8)