Narine to replace Benn? - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html) +--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html) +--- Thread: Narine to replace Benn? (/thread-18607.html) |
Re: Narine to replace Benn? - mapoui - 06-21-2014 burp! Re: Narine to replace Benn? - Rev Al - 06-21-2014 [quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570768#msg570768 date=1403366346] Benn cannot be dropped in my estimation. if anyone is to go it would be gabriel and play both spinners Both spinners would not be overkill in any way I can see. you playing to win. whatever achieves that is what I would do. Gabriel has been a significant improvement over Sammy. and Narine would likely double Gabriels worth. so it is gabriel/Narine. Benn is secure. Benn would have had a match haul of upwards of 8 wickets had his catches been take. in the end he had to take his catches himself to get a wicket ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: [/quote] Mappy: * Do you recall part-time spinner, Narsingh Deonarine, nearly bowling the West Indies to victory at Kensignton Oval against Australia in 2012 ? * Click on the link: http://howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Matches/MatchScorecard.asp?MatchCode=2058 * Had the #1 WI spinner in that test(Bishoo) taken a wicket or two-----the WI could have won that test. Rev Re: Narine to replace Benn? - mapoui - 06-21-2014 Quote:Had the #1 WI spinner in that test(Bishoo) taken a wicket or two-----the WI could have won that test. well Bishoo is not Benn. and for some reason off-spin always does well at Kensington. I remember Gibbs bowling India out at Kensington. tenks fuh reminding me. I now recommend that Narine replace Gabriel at Kensington Re: Narine to replace Benn? - mapoui - 06-21-2014 was it India or Australia who Gibbs bowled out at Kensington. what did I actually remember then ::confused:: anyhow off spin will work at Kensington. Narine mus' play! Re: Narine to replace Benn? - Rev Al - 06-21-2014 [quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570810#msg570810 date=1403380631] well Bishoo is not Benn. and for some reason off-spin always does well at Kensington. I remember Gibbs bowling India out at Kensington. tenks fuh reminding me. I now recommend that Narine replace Gabriel at Kensington [/quote] * You mentioned off spinners doing well at Kensington----but actually spinners on the whole have done well. * Gibbs took 22 wickets in 5 tests * Ramadhin took 17 wickets in 4 tests * Laker took 13 wickets in 2 tests * Benn has taken 12 wickets in 3 tests * McGill took 10 wickets in 2 tests * Shillingford has taken 9 wickets in 2 tests. Click on link: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=1;ground=199;template=results;type=bowling CONCLUSION: * It might not be a bad idea for the WI to play 2 spinners at Kensington----on day 4 and 5 spinners will take wickets. Rev Re: Narine to replace Benn? - Rev Al - 06-21-2014 [quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570813#msg570813 date=1403381100] was it India or Australia who Gibbs bowled out at Kensington. what did I actually remember then ::confused:: anyhow off spin will work at Kensington. Narine mus' play! [/quote] * Gibbs took 8/38 against India in 1962. * Mappy you is a old dude. ;D hahaha http://howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Players/PlayerProgressBowl.asp?PlayerId=0606&GroundCode=032&OpponentCode=00 Rev Re: Narine to replace Benn? - mapoui - 06-21-2014 excellent posting rev. you know yuh stuff> I am sure they will play the 2 spinners on Thursday :-[ Re: Narine to replace Benn? - mapoui - 06-21-2014 Quote:Mappy you is a old dude. old enuff. Methuselah ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: Re: Narine to replace Benn? - Rev Al - 06-21-2014 [quote author=mapoui link=topic=90629.msg570817#msg570817 date=1403381847] excellent posting rev. you know yuh stuff> I am sure they will play the 2 spinners on Thursday :-[ [/quote] * I'd be shocked if the selectors play 2 spinners at Kensington. * That would be the prudent thing to do. * But the selectors may choose not to change a winning team. * Personally I would play Shillingford ahead of Gabriel as the 4th bowler. * I'm assuming Narine is still in the DOG HOUSE. MY TEAM gayle brathwaite Edwards bravo shiv blackwood ramdin benn roach taylor shillingford Rev Re: Narine to replace Benn? - mapoui - 06-21-2014 Narine is he better bowler now. the Kiwi also 'fraid Narine bad bad! |