Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html) +--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html) +--- Thread: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI (/thread-26151.html) |
Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - ketchim - 08-04-2015 Gayle and Sehwag should open : both TRIPLE test centurions :-[ Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - mapoui - 08-04-2015 Quote: If he opens with Gavaskar, Gavaskar will get suicidal. why TD..Sidhu was alright ::confused:: yuh know who I wud put with gavaskar!!! allyuh nevah guess..... ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: THE LITTLE WICKET KEEPING DEVIL WITH A BAT...FAROUK ENGINEER! :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - mapoui - 08-04-2015 India also had a a half decent opener I liked a lot..M.L Jaisimha. I doh know if dat spelling of his name is correct. but he made an early impression but did not last past Wadekars team Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - bala24 - 08-04-2015 [quote author=ketchim link=topic=99275.msg649521#msg649521 date=1438697545] Gayle and Sehwag should open : both TRIPLE test centurions :-[ [/quote] Haha..Would be a great Combo. Both explosive but they don't put a price on their wickets.If they fire they will fire in unison and take the total to something exponential. We need to have someone stable at top as well. Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - ketchim - 08-04-2015 Good Openers : ![]() Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - bala24 - 08-04-2015 [quote author=dillinger10 link=topic=99275.msg649495#msg649495 date=1438671266] Gambhir over Gavaskar?! ::confused:: Gambhir was a good opener (43.59 average in 55 matches) but Gavaskar is one of the top 5 opening batsman to ever play the game (50.29 average in 119 matches) - and arguably the greatest. Gavaskar was considerably better and for almost twice as many matches. Gavaskar scored 50+ once every 2.7 innings; Gambhir once every 3.23 innings. Gavaskar finished with 33 centuries and 42 50's; Gambhir finished with 9 centuries and 21 50's. No opener scored more runs, centuries or scores of 50+ in Test cricket than Gavaskar. He is one of only six opening batsman to have played more than 50 Test matches and finished with a career average of 50+. The other five batsman are Herbert Sutcliffe, Len Hutton, Jack Hobbs, Matthew Hayden and Virender Sehwag. I don't think there is really much to debate. Gavaskar and Sehwag are the two greatest Indian openers in Test history. Gambhir and Sidhu are on a level below. [/quote] Were there any others who matched the stats of Gavaskar ? We can't just have one choice at the top. Sachin too can't open as he is best off at No : 4 How abt Ganguly over Gambhir ? Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - dillinger10 - 08-05-2015 My All-time India XI would be: Gavaskar (*) Sehwag Dravid Tendulkar Vengsarkar Dhoni (†) Kapil Dev Kumble Srinath Zaheer Khan Chandrasekhar I had a real hard time leaving out Laxman, Vijay Hazare, Mohammad Azharuddin, Mohinder Amarnath, Ganguly, Viswanath and Harbhajan Singh. I opted for Vengsarkar over Laxman as their overall numbers are very similar but Vengsarkar was a thorn in England's side over the years (averaged 43 against England and 48 in England for his career) while Laxman didn't fare as well (30 for his career and 34 in England). I keep going back and forth though as Laxman did average 42.49 away from home for his career while Vengsarkar averaged just 32.73 in away matches. So tough to choose. One could also make a compelling case for Harbhajan Singh over Chandrasekhar if you wanted to opt against playing two leggies and instead go for a leg-spin and off-spin combination. I know Maps is a big fan of Farokh Engineer, and he certainly saw a lot more of him than I did. Perhaps he would argue Engineer should be in the team over Dhoni as the wicket-keeper. Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - bala24 - 08-05-2015 For me i will surely choose Laxman,because of his performances and averages against Australia and SA. Though i love Dhoni for his antics i still feel he is not fit to be in the team of legends.I will have Ganguly in his place. Dravid then could one the gloves.He is quite OK with the gloves as well. Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - dillinger10 - 08-05-2015 [quote author=bala24 link=topic=99275.msg649755#msg649755 date=1438793596] For me i will surely choose Laxman,because of his performances and averages against Australia and SA. Though i love Dhoni for his antics i still feel he is not fit to be in the team of legends.I will have Ganguly in his place. Dravid then could one the gloves.He is quite OK with the gloves as well. [/quote] Dravid never kept wicket at Test level and so to include him as a wicket-keeper in an all-time great team is bending the rules a little too far for me. Re: Who would your two Indian openers be in an all-time greatest India Test XI - ketchim - 08-05-2015 VVS has to be in ... |