Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: Rally Around West Indies! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-1.html) +--- Forum: We don't like cricket. We love it. (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-2.html) +--- Thread: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". (/thread-13493.html) |
Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Snoopster - 10-07-2013 DR Smith is not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed. 8) Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Kyle - 10-08-2013 [quote author=Mail link=topic=83996.msg524580#msg524580 date=1381160787] I believe he did continue to say words to the effect, the confusion may exist as we are West Indians. I sort of empathise with him as to call a Welshman English and vice versa would improper. The outside world do see the West Indies, from a cricketing view point anyway, as one....as a County and to that end Smith could have easily answered the question. Had he been asked how does it feel to play against your fellow Trinidadians, I would have understand his response a bit better. I did find it funny and perhaps a point commentators need to be aware of. At one point Robin Singh was asked a similar question and he simply said he is a professional doing a job. The West Indies challenge is unique as people do have different currencies, anthems, political systems etc so Smith can be excused. [/quote] Yeah agree. Not a fan of nationalism anyways, but all of this. I'm pretty sure outsiders would miss the point though. Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Kwami - 10-08-2013 Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - ketchim - 10-08-2013 http://trinicenter.com/Raffique/2004/Feb/152004.htm Barbados and Trinidad nearly went to War !
Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - ketchim - 10-08-2013 [quote author=Mail link=topic=83996.msg524583#msg524583 date=1381161018] Ha ha ha.... Trinis seem to have a Calypso for every situation.. love it. [/quote] kwami posted a Guyana band ! 8) Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Flavia - 10-08-2013 [quote author=ketchim link=topic=83996.msg524582#msg524582 date=1381160969] By this time the pot finish, Trini pick up a dish The Bajan say, "No no, no, never happen so! If you wanted something to eat, man take a fork and pick out your meat But if you add one grain of rice, by christ, I squeeze yuh throat like a vise." ::LOL:: [/quote] ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: I read all the comments and this is the only one that really caught my eye.... DWL!!!! I am loving it. I'd really love to hear it. Can I find it on YouTube? Now, I do think he misunderstood the question, in the heat of the moment. Also, reporters need to be more informed and careful as to the kind of questions they ask when they are interviewing folks, especially in the West Indies. The diversities of cultures will often times cause a huge clash. Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - ketchim - 10-08-2013 [quote author=Flavia link=topic=83996.msg524699#msg524699 date=1381249187] Can I find it on YouTube? [/quote] I posted it from YouTube as the first reply above . Youtube Lord Kitchener .....Take you meat out mih rice. Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Mail - 10-08-2013 [quote author=Flavia link=topic=83996.msg524699#msg524699 date=1381249187] ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: I read all the comments and this is the only one that really caught my eye.... DWL!!!! I am loving it. I'd really love to hear it. Can I find it on YouTube?.......[/quote] Are you on the G&T again? Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Kwami - 10-08-2013 Dwane Smith " friends, Bajans , Trinis are not my country men Re: Dwayne Smith : "They not my countrymen, they from Trinidad". - Flavia - 10-10-2013 [quote author=Mail link=topic=83996.msg524743#msg524743 date=1381263689] Are you on the G&T again? [/quote] huh? |