racial friction in Jamaica

13 Dec 2011 14:49 - 13 Dec 2011 15:17 #66594 by mapoui
I looked at the doc dats presented above twice and again by modern standards I dont see it as useful.

wat do we know of the reality:

as the chinese Jamaican commentator said the chinese were responsible for the riots. 

but he talks about the self segregation of the chinese alone, based on their commercial domination, and not the specific acts and conditions caused by that chinese domination, that ultimately led to the explosions.

and the fact that it happened several times meant that the chinses did not learn from the first event and change their ways..ensurin subsequent events did take place.

we know that not much has changed despite greater social involvement locally by Jamaican chinese.

relative to the comment by the white woman establishing the fact of white westindian slavery..indenture wud be a better word for it was not a permanent condition... deh cud and did work off their indenture and became free. 

there were more differences that made their status better materially than slaves and free blacks.

but that as that that fact is not known by the generality is a consequence of the quality of Jamaincan and westindian society currenly,  in which the forriner still controls, exercisng a greater degree of control than perhaps even during slavery and colonilaism, for current global debt slavery is complete indeed.

currently the local legislative power is owned by forriners through ownership and control of the local government. 

this is international fact and applies to most countries.  forriners control local currencies through ownership and control of most central banks in the world and determine local policies  in every facet of the local life from afar.

the westindies can do little or nothing for itself, institutue no policies to help its people, must apply austerity across the board to pay interest on national debt forced on the region over the years.

so the quality of,  or lack of education in the westindies is a scandal.  we have westindian history taught in the schools and it is not general knowledge that a great portion  of the white people in the westindies, historically came in as lowly indentured people, almost slaves, crooks and criminals, prostitues and those kidnapped off the streets and sent to the colonies.

'shanghied' I believe was the word of the day to describe that practice

so white and bllack do not yet have a historical common ground about their origins in the westindies, dat produces an understanding that could lead to a better social relationship between those two groups in the region.

yet who wud such a better social situation benefit?

it would benefit local ordinary westindians both blac and white if a postive relationship developed them.  it wud benefit general social relations among all westindians 

but the forrin power does not care about that.  such a postive relationship wud not benefit them.  the current social seperation and routine social warfare between all groups, does help maintain the status quo off of which that power has profited all along

so the education in the  westindies does not change to reflect truth on which the people can help themselves to clarity, and solve their long-standing issues.  the global powers, the banking forriner  he does not want it..the ediucation.. to change.

all that must change as far as the forrin power is concerned is  whatever allows  and improves the ways the banks use, to continue making money for nothing off the backs of the people.

but I dont know wat Dave6 wants.  to tell the story as his doc starts off is useless to me.

I dont see any value in that approach for anyone at all.  it is a type of wallowing in ignorance, using the people to paint a picture that does not help them in any way, makes them look backward and stupid for we all know better now.

we have a good idea of wats wrong and wat to do to fix it in the westindies,  even in some areas of the backward regions deh know.  we here in canada etc.,  know a lot more and we can tell Dave6s  doc is perhaps far from as  useful as it cud be starting out as he has.  I am not encouraged at all to further. 

the only gem I found in this first part is the admission that the chinese were responsible for the riots.  and even there their full culpability is hidden in that admission.

I will not spend an hour  or more of my time for bits and pieces like that.

perhaps if I were paid to help in editing I might do it.  but I wont do it for free as there does not loom any comensurate reward.

if dave with his expressed  intent did a more sophistcated job, telling the truth with a view to help reconcile the westindies socially, on all levels, while setting up a positive future I am there with him.  but I am not keen at all, on this bathetic flow of nostalgia that leads to no positive place in the end
Last edit: 13 Dec 2011 15:17 by mapoui.

13 Dec 2011 15:20 #66598 by mapoui
but I guess dave6 made his doc for Unversity audiences in Boston, most of who are happy with the ignorant state of blac wesindians so he got his applause at the end.

in the westindies and for the westindies this kid of thing promotes nothing positive anymore...if it ever did

• dave6
13 Dec 2011 15:52 #66604 by dave6

actually the reaction is much more positive than negative and i have accomplished my goals with this project and i will continue to accomplish my goals as the series continues and i add more segments to this project and continue to screen it at universities around, Jamaica, USA, and Canada, Austria, and Germany, the fact that you find no value in this project((thought it has angered and frustrated you)) even though you admit that you did not watch means you should move on and stop wasting your time while the thousands of others who enjoy the project will continue to do so.

13 Dec 2011 16:04 #66605 by chairman
Ridiculous to say the chinese caused riots
It was racism

13 Dec 2011 16:07 #66606 by The Captain
why don't you do a doc on the real people of the caribbean the ones in this doc walking the streets with hardly anything on carrying baskets on their head
tell us about them not he well to ones in your videos

• dave6
13 Dec 2011 16:27 #66609 by dave6

if you actually sat and watched the documentary poor whites were in this project and i have more segments on poor white enclaves in the caribbean soon to come. however there are endless projects talking about poverty within Jamaican society try google and find out.

• dave6
13 Dec 2011 16:29 #66611 by dave6

interesting mentality they share i know krishina. i never set out to educate people with this breed of logic ((if that is what you want to call it)) but the project finally gives a voice to those who have faced racism and people with rational and logical intellect will hear and see this and will understand.

13 Dec 2011 16:38 #66615 by Kwami
your documentary is aimed at people who knew nothing about west indian history

13 Dec 2011 16:42 #66617 by chairman
The                first Chinese immigrants came to Jamaica in 1854. They came as                indentured labourers as there was a need for cheap labour force to                replace the enslaved Africans who had been granted emancipation 16                years earlier. Also included in this first set of 472 immigrants was                a group that had been sent here by the Panama Railroad Company in                exchange for Jamaican labourers.

• dave6
13 Dec 2011 16:43 #66620 by dave6

then it should be right up your alley being you knew nothing of the German indentured servants or the Jamaican german enclave of seaford town or how they have maintained their catholic faith and continue to build with German inspired architecture or the musuem they maintain with relics from the german migrants. or the Jamaican chinese community making attempts at cultural preservation with the CBA center and its language classes and martial arts studio and musuem.  or the chinese riots and hte perspective of the Jamaican chinese people. try watching it

Time to create page: 0.241 seconds
JamisonGunmen break into former Seahawks player Richard Sherman's home with family inside(01.04.2025, 18:34)(18:34)0
JamisonRichard Chamberlain, the handsome hero of the 1960s television series “Dr. Kildare” who found a second career as an award-winning “king of the miniseries,” has died. He was 90.(30.03.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
BridgerWest Indies cricket team official website(23.03.2025, 00:23)(00:23)0
LyricUnfortunately, after spending 9 months in space, looking over the entire earth, the two Astronauts failed to locate APNU/AFC SOPs.(18.03.2025, 22:04)(22:04)0
LyricThe hour we lost was the one when I was planning to go to the gym(11.03.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
GianniWest Indies latest Test match scorecard(11.03.2025, 11:34)(11:34)0
ScarletSteven Smith South Africa cricket(10.03.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
ketchimCanada get new Prime Minister : Edmonton Mark Carney !(09.03.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
ConnerDr. Ashni Singh quote on government's stance on corrupt practices(08.03.2025, 16:12)(16:12)0
LyricGuy scored 368 bowl out Jam for 44 & didn't enforce the follow-on? That's bull crap(07.03.2025, 09:37)(09:37)0
LyricYesterday, my wife thought she saw a cockroach in the kitchen. She sprayed everything down and cleaned thoroughly.
Today I'm putting the cockroach in the bathroom.
(06.03.2025, 17:19)(17:19)0
ShilohU.S. says consequences for Maduro regime if provocation continues(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
Shiloh–Guyana stands firmly against Venezuela’s incursion(02.03.2025, 08:56)(08:56)0
PatienceCongratulations to Trinidadian, Jason Mohammed on an outstanding achievement—three consecutive first class centuries!
• 176 against CCC
• 103 against Windward Islands
• An unbeaten 204 against Leeward Islands
(15.02.2025, 21:22)(21:22)0
NovaGPHC fires senior doctor, suspends two others after investigation of stillbirth(14.02.2025, 19:40)(19:40)0
Amareinfluential women in West Indies cricket(09.02.2025, 03:16)(03:16)0
PatienceSteven Smith scored yet another test century (36) and belongs to the list of one-off the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket!(08.02.2025, 20:51)(20:51)0
PatienceBEAUTIFUL GUYANA CRUSH TINY BARBADOS HANDSOMELY INSIDE THREE DAYS AT GUYANA NATIONAL LORDS STADIUM .(01.02.2025, 12:35)(12:35)0
(30.01.2025, 13:21)(13:21)0
MarissaTHE GENUINE WEST INDIES FANS REALLY DID ENJOY AND APPRECIATE THIS VICTORY.(27.01.2025, 07:40)(07:40)0
MarissaAn excellent fight back by the West Indies to dismiss Pakistan for 154. Warrican 4/43 and Motie 3/49. Well done lads. Let the cricket play.(25.01.2025, 11:44)(11:44)0
LanceTrump says he’s considering ‘getting rid of FEMA’ as he visits hurricane-damaged North Carolina(24.01.2025, 19:55)(19:55)0
DeaconCumberbatch(22.01.2025, 12:19)(12:19)0
Marissa$135 fuh reporting yuh mattie to ICE,deez nex few monts going to be quite interesting(22.01.2025, 07:51)(07:51)0
AndersExxonMobil write-down natural gas fields(21.01.2025, 00:42)(00:42)0
MarissaJangoo should be in next game , captain should be dropped,Kacy karty, should be dropped,if roach is fit I would bring him in at the expense of st Clair.(20.01.2025, 17:41)(17:41)0
Baileymessage(20.01.2025, 15:25)(15:25)0
MercyKensington Oval stadium ticket policy(20.01.2025, 00:36)(00:36)0

(18.01.2025, 19:00)(19:00)0
(17.01.2025, 18:56)(18:56)0
ByronAmir jangoo replace dasilva(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
ByronTevin imlach gets debut(17.01.2025, 07:56)(07:56)0
LindaMy question about the West Indies cricket team.(13.01.2025, 10:06)(10:06)0
ByronWhy doesn't England have big cricket stadiums like those in Australia and India..?(11.01.2025, 16:31)(16:31)0
MaliyahHow do I purchase tickets for the upcoming cricket match at Kensington Oval in Barbados?(11.01.2025, 16:27)(16:27)0
ArielWest Indies vs India T20 match(11.01.2025, 15:59)(15:59)0
LanceFORMER JAMAICA and West Indies left-arm spinner Nikita Miller is excited about imparting his knowledge of the game to the Caribbean side’s spin-bowling unit for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.(10.01.2025, 19:11)(19:11)0
AmosAndrew Strauss steps down as England's director of cricket(10.01.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
DylanChris Gayle T20 statistics(09.01.2025, 12:11)(12:11)0
SeanHello, I'm excited to join the conversation!(09.01.2025, 05:47)(05:47)0
LanceThe Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) pitch, used for the recent fifth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT), has received a 'Satisfactory' rating from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The world body has rated all other four BGT venues - Optus Stadium in Perth, Adelaide Oval, the Gabba in Brisbane, and the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) - 'Very Good.'(08.01.2025, 21:03)(21:03)0
LanceYounis Khan to mentor Afghanistan at Champions Trophy 2025(08.01.2025, 21:02)(21:02)0
MercySouth Africa cricket team upcoming matches schedule(07.01.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
JavierType something here and click Submit or hit Enter...(07.01.2025, 08:37)(08:37)0
IvannaTest comment for registration.(06.01.2025, 17:33)(17:33)0
AdrianDarren Bravo had a remarkable 2020 cricket season, showcasing his skills and talent on the field. His impressive performance was a significant factor in the team's success, and his dedication to the sport is truly admirable. Bravo's ability to adapt to different playing conditions and his consistent batting average made him a valuable asset to the team. What are your thoughts on Darren Bravo's performance in the 2020 cricket season?(06.01.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
RileyCan you provide me with the contact information for the Czech Cricket Union (Českomoravský Kriketový Svaz)?(06.01.2025, 04:35)(04:35)0
RyleeI am looking for the contact information for the Czech Cricket Union (Českomoravský Kriketový Svaz). Can you please provide it?(05.01.2025, 22:05)(22:05)0
Karsyn2023 West Indies vs England test match series(04.01.2025, 20:29)(20:29)0
ElsaDarren Bravo 2020 cricket season(04.01.2025, 14:21)(14:21)0
Dakota